Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2012 | 1:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


User Creations

Sort By:
Rain , by zaynejamie 3 views Created 17 minutes ago Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
NFL Old Spice , by CheeseburgerJay 10 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Oh Mark , by BluWind 5 views Created 1 Score: 5.00 / 5 Load Level
Oh Mark , by BluWind 2 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
CLEAN IT UP! , by CheeseburgerJay 14 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
CLEAN IT UP! , by CheeseburgerJay 2 views Created 1 Score: 5.00 / 5 Load Level
One Ring , by FerrikGonda 31 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Chocolate Rain Lip Sync , by Glboom 24 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Chocolate Penis Lip sync test , by Glboom 7 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
test , by Glboom 10 views Created 1 Score: 3.00 / 5 Load Level
Not your broom (Unfinished2) , by monkeyman06 4 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
He's just a boy , by monkeyman06 36 views Created 1 Score: 4.00 / 5 Load Level

Author Comments

JohnnyUtah and I are working on a BIG game with a lot of in-game voice acting. It would be a mess to animate all that lip-syncing inside the heads of in-game characters, so I made this tool that lets us construct strings of lip-sync data. This way, each character just needs a few different frames that can be manipulated by the data.

The tool was kinda FUN, so we decided to turn it into a toy for everyone to play around with! You can load any audio track from NG or the web and manually lip-sync it. We've also tapped into the NG sharing system to let you save and browse the collective works of the community.

The SAD NEWS is that AS2's sound.position property turns out to be BAD and doesn't update every frame as expected. Playback results also vary by OS/browser. If an animation is out of sync, try hitting the "+" or "-" button, an offset between -2 and +2 should help although to REALLY fix this thing I need to finally get into AS3. :(

IMPORTANT: If you are using one of those Amazon URLs, note they have an "Expires" value in there, meaning your submission will eventually break. Maybe you can just remove the expiration data from the URL, not sure.

UPDATES 10/10/12:

1) When you save your creation you can now check a box to make it available to the public, so no one will see your work in progress until you're ready.

2) The Browse page has two tabs - "ALL" and "MINE", so you can access your own creations. Your unpublished works will appear when browsing your own creations.

3) View counts are now available while browsing entries.

UPDATE 10/31/2012

Fixed some issues with the public/private setting on files as well as the browsing of files. It should all work correctly now!

Reviews


applesauce89applesauce89

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

I browsed some other people's work, and I gotta say, this is a great and fun tool. Thanks Tom and John. (also look for pirate contest TomaMato, by applesauce89, with the blue cube and red eyes, and yes I spelled TomaMoto wrong.)



Dman300Dman300

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

Soon we'll b Kirby doo doo!



xdarksaviourxxdarksaviourx

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

I'm a fairly new member of Newgrounds, and haven't written many reviews (if any). But I've been stalking for a few years and have seen enough to know what this place is all about. With that said:

This tool NEEDS to be a "thing." I thoroughly enjoyed tinkering with it, and it gives people like me (someone who doesn't know a darn thing about making anything flash related) a chance to see just a sliver of what we could be capable of. Its so fun seeing everyone's take on lip syncing and seeing the ideas they've come up with. It even allows some of us to view NG content we may not have seen or heard yet because we're able to browse the audio portal directly from the tool.

Even if this tool wasn't originally supposed to be a submission, it's a good thing you did it. If this does become a "thing", perhaps add more facial and eye features and maybe a couple more toons to choose from. Other than that, mad props to you, Tom and Johnny. Mad props indeed.


People find this review helpful!

Actnb2Actnb2

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

You're missing a few key phonetics which made this frustrating to do well. But it's a fantastic idea, perhaps there's also a way to allow the scroll feature to play a loop, rather than having to move back and forth over the position to hear the sound multiple times without having to hear the sound before or after it multiple times. It gets confusing after a while


People find this review helpful!

ChumbaShishoChumbaShisho

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

Really awesome game here, I absolutely love it! However, I think saving clips as Text Data needs some tweaking, as I just lost quite a bit of work :'(