Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 2, 2012 | 3:42 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 4, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place October 10, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Halloween 2012
    Halloween 2012 The collection of Halloween-themed submissions from 2012!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Betel 10 Points Slay Betel
Mogrimm 10 Points Vanquish Mogrimm
Nocxis 25 Points Destroy Nocxis
Zippelnum 25 Points "Defeat" Zippelnum
Salem 50 Points Beat Salem
SalemPlus 50 Points Beat Salem on New Game+ Mode
Xil 50 Points Annihilate Xil and the Black Obelisk
ONWARD! 100 Points Beat the game on normal mode, in one sitting, without dying
But why? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Not very good at this are we... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Oh Sellie... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Over Sellie's head Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
You lied to me? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Good job hunter! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Finest Cranequin Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
What IS a man? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Possession Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Demon's were once... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
You forgot about Chu? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Not so insignificant Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Lead Anselm through this unforgiving sidescroller, use the lantern to bind demons in a pentagram of light, and free this once peaceful city from an ancient evil.

Walkthrough if you get stuk: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=0EBjl9l7-5k

PDF walkthrough(with trophy guide!): http://www.mediafire.com/
view/?05dfc25xtr58t5z

Reviews


links5095links5095

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 4, 2012

I disapprove of the level up system, which appeared to be completely scripted, and it would have been nice to see some different weapons (and perhaps armour) to choose from, but aside from these points, it was a very solid and enjoyable game. The characters were quirky and likable (at least the main characters were, the demons that you fought were stereotypical garbage.) the combat was fun, although the sections in between bosses seemed to be just there for filler, or to teach the player about a mechanic (such as in the library, where there was no enemies whatsoever, but you had to jump over an obstacle, similar to the ones in the boss room just ahead). The music was great, not really anything I can think to criticize there.

Aside from what I've already mentioned, it would be nice to see some talent trees or anything really that could be used to customize your play-style. I realize that might be difficult because you've set the game up in such a way that the bosses are a kind of puzzle that you have to solve using the game mechanics that you have, and adding more would make puzzles more difficult to make so that they would work with all the new mechanics, but it just feels so... Restrictive. Even something that gave the illusion of progress would be better than nothing, such as picking up a cooler crossbow that does more damage along the way. That would be fine for weapons, but the illusion of leveling up that you've set up with I'm really against. I just want some choice in what gets upgraded.

As a side note, as I'm fairly sure this wont be happening given that you've probably already figured out how this game will progress in the further installments, if it is possible it would be nice to see some ability to free roam and choose the location which you want to travel to instead of playing along such a linear path, but since this is a story driven game I could completely understand the issues with that.



ThatMSipherThatMSipher

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 6, 2012

Let's hit the good, because what's good here is VERY good... the production values. These are amazing. All around. We'll skip the graphics and move to sometimes-under-appreciated areas... music and voice acting, both of which are great here. The music definitely evokes Castlevania SOTN in all the right ways... and the voice acting brings some solid performances. Often voices in games on NG are... ugh (sorry, but... yeah), but this game does great there.

There are some minor... well, not so much complaints, but... the closest I have to a complaint is Anselm's oddly-limited aiming range. I don't really see much reason for him to not be able to fire straight up, but it's not a terribly important thing.

I would like to see there be more non-boss-fighting. The lesser demons are dispatched with astounding ease, and the zombies aren't terribly difficult. And then the back half of the game has pretty much no non-boss fights at all. A greater enemy variety and longer levels would push this game even further into greatness, but the production values do mitigate that... I don't feel like I'm playing an "incomplete" game. Just that there's room to expand in the sequel now that the harder work is done (and done well).

Sadly, I have to drop 1 star because of a game-breaking flaw... control lag. Sometimes Anselm does just keep going, right into something painful. Sometimes my aiming cursor weirds out... ESPECIALLY when trying to draw the pentagrams. It was especially awful the first time I hit the final boss. I spent so much time fighting the cursor, which wanted to slip off in random directions, that it was impossible to get the pentagrams drawn before my lamp fizzled out. I ended up just quitting and waiting a day to come back to it, I was so annoyed by it. No lag that time (ONWARD! achievement unlocked, baby), but still.

Still. I'm really looking forward to see what's coming next. Lil more non-boss level and fighting, fix that mind-of-its-own-sometimes control issue, and you're so gonna have 5 stars.


People find this review helpful!

jhenriquesmjhenriquesm

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 29, 2012

Pretty good game. I love the art style. Really gorgeous.
And the Castlevania-like soundtrack is nice too. Good job.



KuronjiKuronji

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 3, 2012

It's not difficult, simply blast anything that glows to get through it, in future games add a few more enemies as it is basically just a boss rush mode, the graphics and music were very well done though and the story is very interesting. Maybe even add items and some sort of upgrade system in the next one.


People find this review helpful!

Done25Done25

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 3, 2012

To anyone having lag issues just zoom out as much as you can. This will greatly reduce the slow down.


People find this review helpful!