Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 2, 2012 | 3:42 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 4, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place October 10, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Halloween 2012
    Halloween 2012 The collection of Halloween-themed submissions from 2012!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Betel 10 Points Slay Betel
Mogrimm 10 Points Vanquish Mogrimm
Nocxis 25 Points Destroy Nocxis
Zippelnum 25 Points "Defeat" Zippelnum
Salem 50 Points Beat Salem
SalemPlus 50 Points Beat Salem on New Game+ Mode
Xil 50 Points Annihilate Xil and the Black Obelisk
ONWARD! 100 Points Beat the game on normal mode, in one sitting, without dying
But why? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Not very good at this are we... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Oh Sellie... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Over Sellie's head Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
You lied to me? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Good job hunter! Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Finest Cranequin Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
What IS a man? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Possession Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Demon's were once... Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
You forgot about Chu? Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Not so insignificant Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Lead Anselm through this unforgiving sidescroller, use the lantern to bind demons in a pentagram of light, and free this once peaceful city from an ancient evil.

Walkthrough if you get stuk: http://www.youtube.com/wa tch?v=0EBjl9l7-5k

PDF walkthrough(with trophy guide!): http://www.mediafire.com/
view/?05dfc25xtr58t5z

Reviews


XagonogaXXagonogaX

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 12, 2012

Such a great game!



Mario341251Mario341251

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2012

awesome game my favorite boss was zip and you all know why! :D


People find this review helpful!

khewanglikhewangli

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2012

hell yeah i keep playing and playing and playing just to get the medals and take your time to do salem2 i support u



kazer75kazer75

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2012

how to finish the eye boss!


People find this review helpful!

yairm210yairm210

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2012

The first time I played through the game, I was completely immersed. The soundtrack, the noises, the little twinkling lights, the color schemes, the amazing background artwork...it all melded together into a gaming experience the likes of which I have seldom seen.
The soundtrack and color schemes set the main ambiance, since they pervade the entire game. The general feeling was strong enough for me to ignore any minor problems I had (such as Sellie completely not sounding like a guy who's never fought suddenly coming to a city where there's a body of a dead guy right in front of him) - all potential flowbreakers disappeared before the majesty of the sheer EXPERIENCE. I beat the demons, got the gir- demon-ish thing, and saved the world. All well and good, and solid gameplay throughout. Zippy is The Mentor That Betrays you, oh gosh I totally did not foresee that at all what with him not bearing any resemblance to Loki whatsoever, but the voice acting actually managed to sell Sellie as surprised, and kind of sad, kind of like a child finding his pet bunny had posted embarrassing pictures of him on Facebook. And this completely fits in with Sellie's naive character, which undergoes some actual CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT during the story, and not in the direction I expected, either. Altogether amazing, and better than almost all major budget games I have played (story-wise, not gameplay-wise). The clumsy control of the crossbow actually accentuates the fact that Sellie is kind of new to this and got the crap end of the stick as weapons go, and although I don't know if this is intentional, seeing as all other pieces of the game are masterfully crafted I don't doubt that this is so (the no-shooting-while-jumping was a good indicator of the clumsiness attempting to convey realism and background rather than easy gameplay, although I may be reading into it too much).
The second time I played through it was to examine it as a game. I passed by Zippy completely at the beginning without attacking him, and he gave me the lantern - loved that that was an option! Choices through gameplay FTW!
I noticed the moving upstairs panel in the library, and it struck me how rare it is in a game to have a room dedicated only to character interactions and atmosphere that isn't a Safe Spot - you don't know what you may encounter, which makes it a stressed situation, and gives the interactions that extra oomph of people (or whatever) opening up in danger.
Based on the final credits lines, I decided to do nothing in the fight with Zippy, and was thrilled when he doesn't kill you but leaves you at 1 life (like he said!) but was rather disappointed that the only option was, at that point, to use the lantern. If you use it and cut it off, though, you can move around and jump onto him and nothing happens until you use it again.
When he's trapped, if you go off to the sides, you get stuck in a loop (I shot a bolt and came across it again soon), and you need to restart - Mmm.
LOVED his dying 'woe is me, I am slain' act - I thought it was overdone the first time, and the medal name slightly gave it away, but after not fighting him at all it's so much better =)
I tried to get past the big black sluggy thing without shooting it, but couldn't - ah well, it makes sense I guess, not a problem. My problem is with what came later. The big black ghost chases you, oh noes must run away...but if you don't, it damages you a bit and then waits for you to get up again.
...Wat.
I think it would be a better idea to have you die immediately if it catches you. From both a gameplay perspective, an immersion perspective and just plain common sense. I walked right into the jaws of death (literally, perhaps) and get "a little bit hurt"? Erk.
All in all, though, one of the best interactive storytelling experiences I've ever played. Fantastic job, everyone involved! Onwards!


Lots of people find this review helpful!