Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2012 | 3:40 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 30, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Easy Peasy 5 Points The only easy medal you're gonna get.
Snowy Death 50 Points Survived Level 2-1
The dj-takozx Award 100 Points Die 2000 times and break the death counter.
The Shards Are Never Wrong Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE JANUARY 2013:

DESUTORI IS NOW AVAILABLE FREE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY, thank you for the unprecedented support, I appreciate it, and from the team to you, I thank you. See you next game!

http://indievania.com/gam es/desutori

-----

~READ THIS BEFORE YOU BREAK YOUR COMPUTER~
Game too hard you wanna rip your hairs out? Skip levels by pressing B at the title screen!

----

INSTRUCTIONS:

# PRESS

TO PAUSE THE GAME, PRESS TO QUIT WHILE PAUSED TO GO BACK.

# Use the Left and Right Arrow keys to move.

# Use the Space bar for various in-game options.

----

The game that made Tom nervous is finally on Newgrounds!

The 8-Bit Hardcore Retro Side-Scroller is here!

Will you manage to collect ALL 12 CRYSTAL SHARDS OR DIE AN AWFUL DEATH?

Enter Desutori, a side-scrolling game about a unlikely Hero and the Goddess who travel far and wide in search of the ultimate power. The Cosmic Shards.

----
Special thanks to
TheBackAlleys Forums for the support,
Dilly, Fefe and GhostingFish for the help.

Reviews


SolidSalamanderSolidSalamander

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

I'm not normally a fan of these kinds of games but this was surprisingly good. Unlike a lot of extremely difficult platformers, this one really is quite possible if you just remember that it's about two things: Pattern memorization and timing. Everything (Even those spirits in world 2. Watch them closely) moves in a specific pattern and you need to be able to move at the right time. I was even able to get through one level without dying by just paying attention.

In regards to flaws, the difficulty curve can be a little weird on occasion. For instance, I actually found some of the world 1 levels to be harder than some of the world 3 levels and world 2-1 was probably the hardest level in the game. Maybe I'm just better at dealing with certain obstacles than others.

As for other issues, I'm going to need to get into *SPOILER* territory for this...

There's a bug soon after you give Venus the last 12 crystals. Obviously, things go wrong but then there's this weird flash of activity as she speaks and it showed my life counter rapidly decreasing. It was disturbing enough that I thought it was intentional until I noticed I actually lost around 50 lives. I get the feeling that this was a bug.

Also, we really didn't get any answers regarding that mysterious hooded girl aside from what she looks like (I honestly was expecting a future version of our heroine under the hood. It would explain how she knows so much). Considering you're talking about a sequel in some of your responses, I suspect that might be answered there.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Every single enemy is done with love and care. I am glad you noticed this, this is a special kind of game, but you can rush through it, you just gonna know how!

I kinda wish people would speedrun it, I think it has potential of being a speedrun game.

Thanks for the review, SolidSalamander!


HellLordZeoHellLordZeo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

Hard as hell .. Great game nice animation Good work! :3


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!


blackiris42blackiris42

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 5, 2013

I loved the game, even though i suck at it. But after managing to get The Dj takozx badge, It doesnt show up in my medal screen.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

I wonder why that is... maybe a problem on NGs side.


MissDanteMissDante

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

I'm only giving a four star, as I would for some of my old favorite games because of the ending. I feel like all my hard work was for nothing. We don't see if she ACTUALLY wishes the village back or who the blue haired girl is all it is is a flash of light.

I understand that concept of open ending but for a game like this? Golly I put in enough work I want a big finally. It was very anti climactic.

Which is sad because my want to see her though and see what happen is what kept me going though even at my 200 life loss at 2-1 (It is really late and a bunch of them where me dosing off in the middle)

Again it's a really great game, as people have said, it's way to hard at the start and easy at the end. I think you should have switched the order to Castle, Mines and then Snow Fields (graveyard?) There where also times when I wasn't even near an object and it killed me, while other times I had stepped back after going though half a ghost and not dying.

Also it was fairly short other then the dying bits. If I was better with my coordination I could have flown though the game. I heard you where making a second game to this (though other reviews) So I hope this helps sort of.

I actually really liked the voice acting. :3


Kooh responds:

The sequel will answer most of these things, I didn't expect the reception I got, thank you for the review!


akopinoyakopinoy

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 29, 2012

._.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

.-.