Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2012 | 3:40 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Easy Peasy 5 Points The only easy medal you're gonna get.
Snowy Death 50 Points Survived Level 2-1
The dj-takozx Award 100 Points Die 2000 times and break the death counter.
The Shards Are Never Wrong Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE JANUARY 2013:

DESUTORI IS NOW AVAILABLE FREE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY, thank you for the unprecedented support, I appreciate it, and from the team to you, I thank you. See you next game!

http://indievania.com/gam es/desutori

-----

~READ THIS BEFORE YOU BREAK YOUR COMPUTER~
Game too hard you wanna rip your hairs out? Skip levels by pressing B at the title screen!

----

INSTRUCTIONS:

# PRESS

TO PAUSE THE GAME, PRESS TO QUIT WHILE PAUSED TO GO BACK.

# Use the Left and Right Arrow keys to move.

# Use the Space bar for various in-game options.

----

The game that made Tom nervous is finally on Newgrounds!

The 8-Bit Hardcore Retro Side-Scroller is here!

Will you manage to collect ALL 12 CRYSTAL SHARDS OR DIE AN AWFUL DEATH?

Enter Desutori, a side-scrolling game about a unlikely Hero and the Goddess who travel far and wide in search of the ultimate power. The Cosmic Shards.

----
Special thanks to
TheBackAlleys Forums for the support,
Dilly, Fefe and GhostingFish for the help.

Reviews


MoebiusMoebius

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

Most annoying thing was how long it takes to restart after you die. Should be almost instant in a game you are going to die A LOT.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Dearly noted!


xtigerstrikerxtigerstriker

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 13, 2013

hit detection is off


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Thank you for the review, our next game is currently revising a better collision system (it's hard but we are getting there)!


Mr-krugerMr-kruger

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 29, 2012

i liked the style and the voice acting was a nice touch but seriously... this is one of the mos frustrating games i have ever played..


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Press B at the title screen for level warping! Think of it as Super Mario Bros. 3's flute but without the hassle of ripping your hairs off!


VinnitoElitoVinnitoElito

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

It's cute, got 2 shards, then had died over 100 times... this is not a game for the faint of heart aka the most patient people on the entire planet. Suffice to say, only 0.5% can play this game without quitting really quick... and I'm among sadly, a minority who won't rate this game 0-2 stars. If this game ever reaches the masses, it will be a disaster...


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

If it reaches the masses, imagine the heart attacks!
Nonetheless, the story is up on YouTube if you're interested!


SkykoiSkykoi

Rated 3 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

I quit after about 5 minutes of just dying -_-

Not my type of game, but I like the art and the voices in the beginning of the game :3


Kooh responds:

There's a walkthrough on YouTube, if you want the story but not the gameplay there's always that!