Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2012 | 3:40 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Easy Peasy 5 Points The only easy medal you're gonna get.
Snowy Death 50 Points Survived Level 2-1
The dj-takozx Award 100 Points Die 2000 times and break the death counter.
The Shards Are Never Wrong Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE JANUARY 2013:

DESUTORI IS NOW AVAILABLE FREE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY, thank you for the unprecedented support, I appreciate it, and from the team to you, I thank you. See you next game!

http://indievania.com/gam es/desutori

-----

~READ THIS BEFORE YOU BREAK YOUR COMPUTER~
Game too hard you wanna rip your hairs out? Skip levels by pressing B at the title screen!

----

INSTRUCTIONS:

# PRESS

TO PAUSE THE GAME, PRESS TO QUIT WHILE PAUSED TO GO BACK.

# Use the Left and Right Arrow keys to move.

# Use the Space bar for various in-game options.

----

The game that made Tom nervous is finally on Newgrounds!

The 8-Bit Hardcore Retro Side-Scroller is here!

Will you manage to collect ALL 12 CRYSTAL SHARDS OR DIE AN AWFUL DEATH?

Enter Desutori, a side-scrolling game about a unlikely Hero and the Goddess who travel far and wide in search of the ultimate power. The Cosmic Shards.

----
Special thanks to
TheBackAlleys Forums for the support,
Dilly, Fefe and GhostingFish for the help.

Reviews


BoredudeBoredude

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

Liked it, didnt finish though, nice music ( Id like to see a more fantasy song , and longer ) and i liked it ,chalenging, but has to be better in some things, like:
1- The drawings dont match the syle of the game itself and the music .
2- The movements, for the game style should be better ( sliding, jumping, wall jumping...)
3- The characters, more interesting, you, take out some of the simpliness and replace it with
epicness.

Thats it. Enjoyed playing


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

1.- It was my decision, but I see why people might not like it.
2.- Noted.
3.- I didn't get this one, so I'm gonna take a wild guess and you mean expand more on the character's development. Noted.

Thank you for playing, glad you enjoyed it!


tachu94tachu94

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

well... i couldnt pass the first level, then i went to buy cheetos, i drinked some vodka and played again until the depression made me cut my whrist with a plastic knife.... anyway nice job


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

I knew it destroyed computers, but never knew that it destroyed lives! D:


HellLordZeoHellLordZeo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

Hard as hell .. Great game nice animation Good work! :3


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!


AhrimanOfTheLightAhrimanOfTheLight

Rated 1 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

Wow, I couldn't have imagined to see collision issues in a pixel game.
Frustrating, dull music, meh graphic...pixel game does not mean lousy work, do backgrounds, use different bitmaps and so on, please.

Try again man.


Kooh responds:

We're planning on trying again in the future, so don't worry!


RedKovuRedKovu

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 2, 2012

WARNING--This review is 100% Biased and based on personal opinion off of the fact that I don't enjoy platform games-- This game is very difficult although maybe it was just difficult for me because I don't play these types of games. But I think maybe a difficulty setting should be implemented. Other than that, the sound was good and fit with the atmosphere. And the 8-bit graphics were, well.. to be expected. Nothing really special about this game in my personal opinion, nothing really stands out.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

I think the problem with difficulty is that it's gonna subjective no matter what, nonetheless, I understand what you're saying, further easing in the player could work in future games!

Thanks for noticing the music, GhostingFish worked really hard on that and he'll be glad to hear it, RedKovu!