Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2012 | 3:40 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Easy Peasy 5 Points The only easy medal you're gonna get.
Snowy Death 50 Points Survived Level 2-1
The dj-takozx Award 100 Points Die 2000 times and break the death counter.
The Shards Are Never Wrong Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE JANUARY 2013:

DESUTORI IS NOW AVAILABLE FREE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY, thank you for the unprecedented support, I appreciate it, and from the team to you, I thank you. See you next game!

http://indievania.com/gam es/desutori

-----

~READ THIS BEFORE YOU BREAK YOUR COMPUTER~
Game too hard you wanna rip your hairs out? Skip levels by pressing B at the title screen!

----

INSTRUCTIONS:

# PRESS

TO PAUSE THE GAME, PRESS TO QUIT WHILE PAUSED TO GO BACK.

# Use the Left and Right Arrow keys to move.

# Use the Space bar for various in-game options.

----

The game that made Tom nervous is finally on Newgrounds!

The 8-Bit Hardcore Retro Side-Scroller is here!

Will you manage to collect ALL 12 CRYSTAL SHARDS OR DIE AN AWFUL DEATH?

Enter Desutori, a side-scrolling game about a unlikely Hero and the Goddess who travel far and wide in search of the ultimate power. The Cosmic Shards.

----
Special thanks to
TheBackAlleys Forums for the support,
Dilly, Fefe and GhostingFish for the help.

Reviews


MissDanteMissDante

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

I'm only giving a four star, as I would for some of my old favorite games because of the ending. I feel like all my hard work was for nothing. We don't see if she ACTUALLY wishes the village back or who the blue haired girl is all it is is a flash of light.

I understand that concept of open ending but for a game like this? Golly I put in enough work I want a big finally. It was very anti climactic.

Which is sad because my want to see her though and see what happen is what kept me going though even at my 200 life loss at 2-1 (It is really late and a bunch of them where me dosing off in the middle)

Again it's a really great game, as people have said, it's way to hard at the start and easy at the end. I think you should have switched the order to Castle, Mines and then Snow Fields (graveyard?) There where also times when I wasn't even near an object and it killed me, while other times I had stepped back after going though half a ghost and not dying.

Also it was fairly short other then the dying bits. If I was better with my coordination I could have flown though the game. I heard you where making a second game to this (though other reviews) So I hope this helps sort of.

I actually really liked the voice acting. :3


Kooh responds:

The sequel will answer most of these things, I didn't expect the reception I got, thank you for the review!


Ken10BenKen10Ben

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2012

Awesome Game, reminds me IWBTG (I wanna be the guy), the same thing, except the lives here are limited (maybe). Completed 2 Levels for now. I see it's really hard, but it would be a bit easier with Jump skills.


Kooh responds:

Thank you for the Insight, we're hoping to add a lot of stuff to the sequel.


BrutalJBrutalJ

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2012

A fantastic game with fantastic execution. I enjoyed having to run through another one of my favorite genre of games. Although I am plenty experienced in these type of games -- playing one from one of my hobby sites makes it all the better.

I automatically became a fan of this game at 2-1. The L.Curve for that map was amazing. I found myself running through the stage like "Woah! Swear that thing just took my eyebrows off". The only downside was that the stage gave users too much time to adjust their strategy on the map.

There are also too many safe-spots in the maps where users can idle away until they choose to move forward. Perhaps adding crystals onto the stages as the finale had would help increase the pace of the game in the earlier dungeons. (Or even just having the shard detonate if the stage was done too slowly)

One of my main gripes about this game is that the difficulty declines as the user ventures on.

My second would be the hit boxes. They are a bit enlarged. Though I am sure this is most likely the best it can offer and is most likely unable to be fixed. I noticed on the last stage that for my only two deaths (One for the axe and the other from a beam) that my player would die while still able to move around.

An axe sweep that was slightly above my head took me to the 'continue' screen while I was still able to grab a shard and it caused the SFX to continue playing an overlap the respawned music. My second death was outside of the laser's blast radius, but I positioned myself with a ridiculous amount of precision so I pretty much expected this. Doing so caused the glitch in my previous statement. (SFX overlapping and my player still able to wonder about.) The movement only lasts for a few seconds before the map restarts inevitably, but eh, I digress.

*SEMI-SPOILER* + Tips* --

Newcomers worry not -- The game gets considerably easier after 2-1.

For the finale. Phase 1 - You can collect all shards in one sweep. Phase 2 - You should be synced with the spikes. I.E Grab Shard-Wait-Spike-Grab Shard-Wait-Spike-Grab Shard, etc etc. Phase 3 - Grab shard, position yourself in the laser radius -- This is because an axe sweep will happily behead you if you are too close.

(Remember: The second axe sweep is shorter than the initial one.) (A spike should have gone off at some point you were wedged in between) You should be able to grab the 2nd Shard -- Push before the axes return -- Wait for the spike and grab the 3rd shard -- push towards the last shard. (Be aware that the spike will most likely pop out before you are able to reach it. So don't be too hasty and take your time.

I'll most likely make a 0 death speed-run video of it eventually. Only wasted a life or two at the boss due to having to learn the pattern. As always -- Good luck and have fun.

(Off to get the 2,000 deaths medal now.)


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

This was a long review, I grabbed a cup of coffee and sat down. I really am glad you enjoyed it.
This is pretty good insight I'll take into consideration for the sequel, if you do complete in a 0 death speed-run, be sure to PM the video link to my youtube account!
We love seeing people play it!

http://www.youtube.com/andehmx

Good luck, hero!


oslashoslash

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

this game isnt that hard as you say
but its still good

damnit that boss scared me, i beaten this game at 2AM


Kooh responds:

That scary line was actually recorded at 3AM!


poopthenoobpoopthenoob

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2012

everything kills you? it's just like i wanna be the guy!


Kooh responds:

But a lot more fair and precise :)