Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 29, 2012 | 3:40 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place September 30, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Easy Peasy 5 Points The only easy medal you're gonna get.
Snowy Death 50 Points Survived Level 2-1
The dj-takozx Award 100 Points Die 2000 times and break the death counter.
The Shards Are Never Wrong Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

UPDATE JANUARY 2013:

DESUTORI IS NOW AVAILABLE FREE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY, thank you for the unprecedented support, I appreciate it, and from the team to you, I thank you. See you next game!

http://indievania.com/gam es/desutori

-----

~READ THIS BEFORE YOU BREAK YOUR COMPUTER~
Game too hard you wanna rip your hairs out? Skip levels by pressing B at the title screen!

----

INSTRUCTIONS:

# PRESS

TO PAUSE THE GAME, PRESS TO QUIT WHILE PAUSED TO GO BACK.

# Use the Left and Right Arrow keys to move.

# Use the Space bar for various in-game options.

----

The game that made Tom nervous is finally on Newgrounds!

The 8-Bit Hardcore Retro Side-Scroller is here!

Will you manage to collect ALL 12 CRYSTAL SHARDS OR DIE AN AWFUL DEATH?

Enter Desutori, a side-scrolling game about a unlikely Hero and the Goddess who travel far and wide in search of the ultimate power. The Cosmic Shards.

----
Special thanks to
TheBackAlleys Forums for the support,
Dilly, Fefe and GhostingFish for the help.

Reviews


SolidSalamanderSolidSalamander

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

I'm not normally a fan of these kinds of games but this was surprisingly good. Unlike a lot of extremely difficult platformers, this one really is quite possible if you just remember that it's about two things: Pattern memorization and timing. Everything (Even those spirits in world 2. Watch them closely) moves in a specific pattern and you need to be able to move at the right time. I was even able to get through one level without dying by just paying attention.

In regards to flaws, the difficulty curve can be a little weird on occasion. For instance, I actually found some of the world 1 levels to be harder than some of the world 3 levels and world 2-1 was probably the hardest level in the game. Maybe I'm just better at dealing with certain obstacles than others.

As for other issues, I'm going to need to get into *SPOILER* territory for this...

There's a bug soon after you give Venus the last 12 crystals. Obviously, things go wrong but then there's this weird flash of activity as she speaks and it showed my life counter rapidly decreasing. It was disturbing enough that I thought it was intentional until I noticed I actually lost around 50 lives. I get the feeling that this was a bug.

Also, we really didn't get any answers regarding that mysterious hooded girl aside from what she looks like (I honestly was expecting a future version of our heroine under the hood. It would explain how she knows so much). Considering you're talking about a sequel in some of your responses, I suspect that might be answered there.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Every single enemy is done with love and care. I am glad you noticed this, this is a special kind of game, but you can rush through it, you just gonna know how!

I kinda wish people would speedrun it, I think it has potential of being a speedrun game.

Thanks for the review, SolidSalamander!


DerpNyanDerpNyan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

This game is like a weird version of CatMario. Everything you touch kills you.

As for the actual game, its okay, but your character is a bit slow-moving.


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

She's a bit on the slow side, eh eh?


DakotasageDakotasage

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

I lost it when she said "I regret nothing :3"


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

And in the end, she didn't regret anything.


HylarnHylarn

Rated 2 / 5 stars September 30, 2012

I'm fairly neutral on sadomasochistically difficult platformers, but this one is particularly irritating to play. It takes much to long to respawn for something that's going to happen that often, made worse by how slow your character moves. It gets old fast


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

I understand it's not for everyone, thank you for the input, I'll take special care of how Sasha moves next time.


MrccbirdguyMrccbirdguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 29, 2012

Pretty good game! Just a quick heads up, on the final level, I experienced a wierd glitch. The entire screen flashed for about 20 seconds and caused a few lost lives. Not sure if that was just a glitch on my end or what. But other than that, great game, Can't wait for sequel!


People find this review helpful!
Kooh responds:

Woah, that is weird, I haven't experienced that! Thank you for telling and we hope to have a sequel soon!