Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 17, 2012 | 2:16 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 19, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place September 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

A young girl accidentally ends up in the ruins of a city obsessed with chess. She is immediately confronted with the hospitality of the remaining denizens but also gains a companion who is as eager as her to escape this place.

---
After 10 years of lurking Newgrounds:
This is my thesis movie for my graduation as a communication designer with main focus on motion design. Be aware that I'm still a self-taught animator since I didn't go to a college dedicated to animation itself, just movie-making in general, hence Out of Order doesn't look as polished as I wish it would be. I am still proud of it though since this is only the beginning of my animation and storytelling career so it's bound to get alot better!
(I don't have to mention how deadlines chopped away at the storytelling pace, fbf animation and backgrounds.)

Part 2 is already in pre-production and I'm looking forward to work with all the awesome contributors again!
---

Looking forward to your constructive criticism!

Edit: Fun fact: I did everything with a half-dead mouse, just bought a tablet.

Edit2: Sound quality is stupid after that conversion stuff happened. I'll look into it.

Reviews


kennikiakennikia

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2012

One of the best animations i have seen in a long time!
The voice acting was great. Up until i heard the girl's voice.
Shes not horrible, but she is pityful compared to the other voice actors.



TharosTheDragonTharosTheDragon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 21, 2012

Not bad. The art style and design of the main character remind me of Angora from The Meek. I love that comic.



MayashiMayashi

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2012

This is a well done animation and story peice. I like the voices and writting of this. Please continue as I am looking forward for more. :)


People find this review helpful!

DoskoDosko

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 21, 2012

The concept is original enough, and I actually find myself caring about the characters, which is pretty rare for your average submission of this undertaking. In fact, I would say I really enjoyed it. The animation wasn't amazing, but the idea behind it all was enough to make it interesting.

My only real complaint is the voicing. The voice acting is just fine, but the audio quality was pretty crappy, and it made it hard to understand some of the characters and lines, especially that of the girl. If and when Part 2 comes out, I would seriously invest in some better recording equipment.



memariomemario

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 21, 2012

Wow. This is excellent so far. Please oblige by making more asap. This is a great story