Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 12, 2012 | 7:24 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place September 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place September 19, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

In a gloomy, monochromatic universe , Scarfy takes it upon himself to bring what color and joy he can to the world around him.

I've been working on this for AGES, and It's nice to finally see it finished.
This isn't supposed to be funny. I wanted to try something totally new, and I like how it turned out.

Also, the big bad guy's name is Inkwell.

Reviews


nymixnymix

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2012

This is... I don't know. I could say it's sad, or sweet, but there's something else about it that I just can't put my finger on. Maybe it's innocence, or simplicity...? Maybe it's just that Scarfy's sacrifice was just to bring his world of color again, literally and metaphorically. Maybe it's that piano music, and all those spaces of silence. I don't know. But whatever it is, I really like it.



EnergyrainEnergyrain

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2012

I can tell a lot of work was put into this! It's a new style, but still reminiscent of your original style, which is nice. And Scarfy is really cute,haha. Great job on this!



googuy6googuy6

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2012

it was great kinda creepy and sad until he woke up 10/5



NewgroundSageNewgroundSage

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 13, 2012

This was artistically stunning. There's so many things to describe this piece of flash animation. The style had a vary unique mix of rough but lax form of animation an the choosing of three prominent colors was nostalgic via black, white and red. It was a cute, original, powerful, stirring piece of flash that to me honestly deserves a spot in the portal somewhere. My mind kept saying noir but there was more to this than meets the eye to me. It blended drama and light horror very well. You have the main protagonist who is virtually an innocent child of heart who represents free will and vivid life and enlightenment and is willing to stand up to what right. Then you got the antagonists the first being Inkwell's enslaved inhabitants who are soulless, enslaved, blind and lost of their own wills. They are Inkwells lackeys that make up a horde in Inkwells dilapidated, rundown, colorless utopia that has no life nor expressionism within the fair city. And then you have Inkwell that is virtually a colossus and sight to behold. A lumbering entity that is the primary source and epitome of all that stands and defies the happy inhabitants lives and glee. The protagonist "Scarfy" defied and opposed this malicious, radical abomination of the world. In one of the most touching moments is where Scarfy valiantly defeats the vile Inkwell by any means necessary. Even at the costs of his life. Nearly dying in a heroic sacrifice he assures everyone that he still survives for a brief moment in the end. And all ends well! But again I found this tale original, cute, vibrant and well made. I honestly think in my opinion that it deserves to be in the servers of Newgrounds if it were up to me by default or choice. Well done my friend, well done! I'm bestowing you a 4 in a half out of 5. And a 5/5 in voting power. you should feel proud of you hard and laborous work friend. Keep creating and contributing here and stay focused on your wonderful future projects. I hope you've enjoyed this review. Have wonderful joyous day!



Jeansy95Jeansy95

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 13, 2012

This was really good i liked it. This is a nice direction your going in Mike. Keep up the great work man.