Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2012 | 4:24 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 5, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place September 5, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Junior Artist 5 Points Finished your first drawing.
Messenger 5 Points Notified someone after taking your turn.
Randomizer 5 Points Started a game with a random user.
Umad? 5 Points Found the hidden troll face.
Sketcher 10 Points Reach a score of at least 10.
Colorpicker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Heartbreaker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Loner Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Welcome to the Drawing Grounds, the first-ever multiplayer game using the Newgrounds API! :)

If you get stuck on a loading screen, simply refresh the page! :D

This game is very dependent on the API. If it fails to connect, try refreshing the page.
All feedback is welcome!

Special thanks to everyone who helped me test this out and gave feedback!

// Controls \\
-Left/Right arrow keys to adjust brush size
-[Z] Undo brush stroke
-[R] Redo brush stroke
-[Backspace] Undo last letter
-Double-click a color swatch to open the color picker
-Press and hold down on a swatch and drag
onto the stage to pick a color from your drawing

Reviews


ShadowStone13ShadowStone13

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

My favorite part about this game is that, at x50 replay speed, it makes you look like a better artist than you really are.
Least favorite part? there is no "save for later" aspect... like if you wanna take a break during free draw. but oh well. minor complaint.

great job!


People find this review helpful!

cromiloncromilon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

T R O L L F A C E IN OPTIONS



samurott101samurott101

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

This music gives me the creeps....


People find this review helpful!

KhannKhann

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

Playing this has been a great experience for me. I'm no good at drawing but looking at others I learnt some bits and eventually on a couple of occasions people enjoyed what I drew and told me so. Made my day each time. Now I wish I had a tablet, using the mouse can be very hard at times.

However I have 2 issues with it. A few times the picture I just drew wouldn't save, I had to start over. Doesn't happen often but it hurts to lose a good piece. And now that it's not on frontpage anymore the rating system doesn't work. My drawings never get enough votes to be listed... Even though it's not great, I want people to look at what I've done and vote.

But other than that, as I said already, it's been awesome and I learnt a lot.

To Jusperos who answered my drawing of a cauldron with a very kind comment: Thank you! It means a lot coming from you. I watched you draw a few times in awe.


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

I wish I could fix the saving issue, but it seems that there may be nothing I can do about that. If I ever make a game like this again, or has any user-generated content, I now know to focus on that system, to make sure it can at least backup until the game connects properly again.

Yeah, the ratings sadly will take much longer now since the amount of viewers has dropped. I need to have judgement otherwise one vote of 5 will make any drawing #1 (and that would really suck :P).

Glad you obtained something out of this game, that makes me very happy to hear as a developer :)


JuperosJuperos

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2012

Never been this motivated to keep drawing! Love the idea behind this gadget and I think it has a lot of potential. Never seen a pictionary game with features like in The Drawing Grounds. Updates seem frequent - good to know that the game is being taken care of. I imagine features like being able to increase/decrease hue/saturation values slightly by just using shortcut keys a cool addition to your game. Or opacity control if possible. Can really help people while shading!

Also noticed that under Highscores, the "Most games" section just lists the total number of active game sessions of the people who login within that time period and not the actual number of games initiated. For example someone with a lot of active game sessions just logs in and automatically gets listed on top under "Today". Not sure if that's how it was intended to be.
Good job with adding some new Halloween words! Look forward to many more words to minimize repetition.

I never thought watching others draw could be so interesting. Also met some fun people on the way. I just hope the playerbase keeps growing. And if anyone has a shortage of drawing partners who draw back, feel free to add me. I draw back to everyone on my list in a day if not immediately. Don't expect any great drawings though lol.

Mattster, thank you for this awesome game.


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

I put Highscores in just because I could, the most games one is sketchy due to how the API works, but it really doesn't mean a lot :P

Sadly updates are going to slow down, as I am getting into a very busy time of my school year, but I may throw a thing or two in (but I would rather finish up some new games!)
Thank you for the review! :)