Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 4, 2012 | 4:24 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 5, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place September 5, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Junior Artist 5 Points Finished your first drawing.
Messenger 5 Points Notified someone after taking your turn.
Randomizer 5 Points Started a game with a random user.
Umad? 5 Points Found the hidden troll face.
Sketcher 10 Points Reach a score of at least 10.
Colorpicker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Heartbreaker Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Loner Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Welcome to the Drawing Grounds, the first-ever multiplayer game using the Newgrounds API! :)

If you get stuck on a loading screen, simply refresh the page! :D

This game is very dependent on the API. If it fails to connect, try refreshing the page.
All feedback is welcome!

Special thanks to everyone who helped me test this out and gave feedback!

// Controls \\
-Left/Right arrow keys to adjust brush size
-[Z] Undo brush stroke
-[R] Redo brush stroke
-[Backspace] Undo last letter
-Double-click a color swatch to open the color picker
-Press and hold down on a swatch and drag
onto the stage to pick a color from your drawing

Reviews


SaminatSaminat

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2012

This is great, but my only criticism is there should be way more words to choose from, a lot of the time there were repeats


People find this review helpful!

StrangiatoStrangiato

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2012

This game was surprisingly addicting! Although, there are a few things, in my opinion, that would make it better.

- The first is an option to end a game (if there is one, then I apologize, but I couldn't find one). Without this option the list will just continue to expand and then eventually become tedious to find the game you want to play.

-The second would be more words. I'm sure you will update the game to increase the amount of words it randomly generates for you in the future, but for now it just seems like the list is lacking.

Pretty fun game though! I liked how it tied in well with the Newgrounds theme and I look forward to playing it more in the future!


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

There is no way to end a game currently. I do have a feature in the works to ignore games, but from a programming standpoint it is not ideal (since the game actually still exists). Either way, I hope to release this by the weekend.

More words coming too!


JeremyLokkenJeremyLokken

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2012

Very addicting, came back to it to play with several players. Some advice on improvements.. the Dot you adjust for scaling, maybe have it black on white, or another color, hard to see dot, even with the white drop shadow. A fill tool would be awesome. More words to choose from, many were repeats, I could easy guess what the drawings were going to be, after about 10-15min of play. Great job, super fun.


People find this review helpful!

MindChamberMindChamber

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 5, 2012

nice work. plays really well, and the connection is smooth. Though you will probably need a player cap, as I went from 5 to 7 pages of players while i was playing. Now its saying loading 1 of 2 pages, but it never loads.


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

Yeah, a few people (including myself) have this issue... I believe it's something with the API D:


HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 5, 2012

Great idea that seems fun but I'm not sure I like that it auto-shares my "art". Pictionary drawings aren't really meant to be good and generally aren't, after all.

That little detail aside it's pretty cool!


People find this review helpful!
Mattster responds:

It only shares what you choose. When you finish a drawing, if you click the Pbot button it'll be posted to the public. There is currently a glitch that causes your games to show up on your userpage. This will hopefully be fixed soon.