Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 29, 2012 | 1:04 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature August 31, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Sometimes it takes a friend to show you the way.
(Click a bubble to start the game)

UPDATE 22.09.2012: The site-lock has been removed and the EXE projector file for the offline play is available here: http://4as.pl/derpy/Derpy.zip

Here are some tips / instructions:
- Derpy will follow the bubbles that you control, but only if they are in her direct line of sight (Derpy will literally brighten up when she sees them).
- You can make Derpy run by pressing and holding the left mouse button to increases the bubble's power, but do it for too long and the main bubble will pop. It recharges after a while, but in the meantime it casts no light so Derpy won't see it.
- Amount of smaller bubbles = amount of lives.
- Derpy will get bored if you stay in one place for too long; same if she doesn't see the bubbles.
- Derpy will not walk into any harm on her own.

The game requires powerful CPU so if you can't play it, here is a complete walkthrough: youtube.com/watch?v=mcXW87C7Zf8

People that made this game at least 20% more cooler:
Forest Rain (youtube.com/user/PutTrustInFate) by composing awesome music and SFX for cutscenes.
Decibelle (youtube.com/user/Mirisha) by lending her wonderful voice to Derpy
Resonant Waves (youtube.com/user/XResonantWavesX) by allowing me to use the lovely "Luna's Palace" and "The Temple of Rain" tracks.
PonyVisation (youtube.com/user/PonyVisation) by allowing me to use the great "Everfree Shadows" track.
And of course, special thanks to RizCifra (rizcifra.deviantart.com/) for creating the inspiring "We Are Pilots".

Reviews


RickjawRickjaw

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 31, 2012

Best Derpy game to date!
But didn't explain about her eyes tho..
>.>


People find this review helpful!
4as responds:

That is a story for a different time :)


ryuuproductionsryuuproductions

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 31, 2012

Beautiful graphics and sound, but the controls are absolutely horrid.


People find this review helpful!

ChaoticBrainChaoticBrain

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 30, 2012

I understand that she can only see the bubbles if she's looking in their direction, but since she only faces directly left or right, getting her to move straight up and down is a nightmare. Also, it's irritating that I can't seem to get her to face the opposite direction when I want, since her field of vision cannot turn gradually. Both these problems would be fixed if you would make more sprites for Derpy and let her face north and south, in addition to east and west.

Also, you must, must, MUST change the punishment for failing a level to something less extreme. Instead of being taken all the way back to the beginning of the game, maybe send her back to the start of the previous level.


People find this review helpful!

Shadowii2Shadowii2

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 30, 2012

"Derpy will no walk into any harm on her own"
If only this rule applied better when Derpy gets hit by anything (most notably happened to me in the stage with the log you had to time to walk over it), because despite some of the invulnerabilities (as I presume there is some time window for that), Derpy becomes a tad too hard to control, and I managed to lose three lives for one mistake because I couldn't her to behave properly before she bumped into something again.

Also I'd criticize the choice to move camera in accordance to the mouse's position. Because of this it takes a couple of seconds to locate Derpy when a stage starts, and it gets slightly irritating in any tighter area where you need to be careful. I'd suggest to centralize the camera on Derpy when a new stage starts (if it's already supposed to, then it's not working right), and make the camera move only at the edges of the screen. Perhaps make it an option to decide between the two camera types?

Biggest gripe for me however is the decision to throw the player all the way to the beginning upon game over. In a simple nature of a game like this, it only becomes tiresome to go through the levels again, even more so if you just did one simple mistake that then lead to three-four hit combo and game over, like what happened to me a couple of times. Players may outright just quit and not finish it because of this. it's only superficially padding extra length for the game.

Other than those, it seems to be a fairly good game with some nice looking in-game environment graphics to boot. Music fits quite nicely, and Derpy feels pretty lively. The cutscene animations aren't too bad either.

All in all, I'd say it's a fairly simple artsy game, with some rather minor, albeit annoying, flaws. Solid 3/5 for presentation alone.


People find this review helpful!

zoomba297zoomba297

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2012

Best MLP game ever thanks for it, great job.