Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 17, 2012 | 4:32 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place August 18, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place August 22, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

It's finally here! HORRAH!

*filter-whore warning, you'll need a good computer to view this at full speed, if you have performance problems, consider watching the youtube version, in which there is a link in the menu*

Note that this is 15 minutes long, while it loads, grab a snack or something!

Epexsus is a internet-based flash cartoon series created and animated by me, Dylan Simpson since 2009.

Setting/Backstory:

The setting of the series is based on the distant planet of Epexsus, where war between humans has devastated the planet and it's human population, the humans have made "tribes" for themselves that there are now hundreds of, small warfare still goes on between tribes, but it's not as severe as the "Great War" the main world-wide war that happened over 400 years ago that diminished the humans into a few. The humans have repopulated only a small portion of what they were before.

I'm much more active at my deviantart, you should watch me there! parimak.deviantart.com

Reviews


links5095links5095

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

I found the story somewhat intriguing (at least when it comes to the clans, the main protagonist seems cliche so far), and the comedy was legitimately funny, although at some points inappropriately placed, (amusing things happening in too close succession or put in places where suspense should be building, like right after the younger brother saw the smoke from the other village). The animation and some of the voice acting was mediocre. I can see this series having a lot of potential, but if I were to suggest just one thing, then it would be that you should perhaps pay closer attention to scene progression and at what point it is appropriate to add comedy. Since it appears your story is meant to be serious with comedy on the side (much like harry potter, or other such stories) remember that comedy is most effectively used as comedy relief, right after a serious scene has reached its conclusion ('emphasis on reached its conclusion', slicing comedy right in the middle of a serious scene would in my opinion be a bad idea.)

Don't take my review the wrong way though, I'm just better at pointing out negative things then positive things. I am looking forward to what you do with the next installment.



GlacierLordofHatredGlacierLordofHatred

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

It not easy getting a launcher episode for a series. The music has good taste but lacked transition, the voices are top-notch, the animation is pretty good though at times the frame rate dropped a few times and the plot... it lacks the feel for the characters, but that's how most story start out. Anyways, 3.5 stars. Even though I'm not an animator here's some advise. Improve on audio transition, smooth out the frame rate (from which I hear is a task all on its own), and add some details to the plot (nothing too big just to help those understand the real purpose, or something...).

Anyhow great job, keep is up and until next time,
Glacier, LOH


People find this review helpful!

FourEyesT1FourEyesT1

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

great work man



MAXfoxyFOXMAXfoxyFOX

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

very good could very well be worked up to be on tv one day



helicfire777helicfire777

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 20, 2012

the plot needs improvement...