Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 20, 2012 | 8:41 PM EDT
  • Review Crew Pick July 25, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place July 22, 2012
  • Weekly 4th Place July 25, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

We need the help of the Newgrounds community to bring Detective Grimoire to your pockets in a brand new adventure. Check out this sneak peak and if you enjoy it please consider making a contribution to Kickstarter to help fund the development.

It's your job to hunt for clues, interrogate the suspects, solve puzzles along the way and uncover the secret of the swamp...

Reviews


SteffsSteffs

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

I really enjoyed the first game but the second one is just so good it hurts. The voices are great, they just fit the characters so perfectly and really give them personality. The animation is fluid and very well done, as contrast to the first game. The music score just sets the dark and bizarre mood as well as the new cartoonish drawing style. I really enjoyed the easter egg about his hat, at first I thought the wasn't supposed to wear the old battered coat and hat combo but there we go.
Really looking forward for this game. Keep up the good work!!!



PhantomsgirllPhantomsgirll

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 22, 2012

I have loved detective Grimoire since the very first game. This is a total upgrade! The voice acting was epic! Can't wait for it to be finished!



Freya-Crescents-BoyFreya-Crescents-Boy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 26, 2012

It's good to see another episode of Dectective Grimoire, hopefully this wil be a series of games. I like how the game has voice acting now, that really brings the charactors to life. And how the scene is another tourist trap like the first murder. The implmentation of the reasoning system in the demo makes you think on finer points, and that puts things into a whole new light. The atmosphere of the game is a bit more lighthearted then the fairground. The fairground had that underlying sense of dread and unease that a killer was lurking around as the music conveyed that rather well. The bog seems lighter and has softer tonal colours rather then the harsh colours of the fairground. The music as well is sorta relaxing (never thought I would say that) rather then putting you on edge. The backgrounds are very well done, very professional and the charactors as well are also well drawn. I see that the running joke of James mustache is back and the hint of Grimoires hat as well. I can't shake the feeling that his hat (if and when we find it) will lead to an important clue. the note book layout is nice and easy to follow, each note has it's own heading and where it was found so that should keep peoples thoughts organised. I hope that it will be avaliable on iTunes when it finally finished. I guess you've heard this a dozon times but I prefered the old art style to the new one but this is only a first look, I'll play it when it is fully released and make my decsions from there. Good work by the way and heres hoping theres gonna be another Grimoire in the future.


People find this review helpful!

geneserngenesern

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

yayyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



RegunRegun

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 22, 2012

love the game.... simply awesome... love the design, the music, and where the story is going....
you have done an awesome job here with this investigation game

Congrats, hope you finish soon so i can buy and play the rest of the game!!!!


People find this review helpful!