Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 11, 2012 | 2:20 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature July 12, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place July 18, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • FlashPunk
    FlashPunk Featured games made with the FlashPunk library!

Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

The Quest 5 Points speak to the Oracle.
Fall of the Shieldspire 10 Points defeat the first boss.
Fall of Time 10 Points defeat the second boss
Fall of the Tentacled Beast 25 Points defeat the fourth boss.
Fall of the Totem 25 Points defeat the third boss.
Health 25 Points obtain a health pickup.
Mower 25 Points cut 10,000 blades of grass.
Fall of the King of Fire 50 Points defeat the sixth boss.
Fall of the Lights 50 Points defeat the fifth boss.
Fall of the Owl 50 Points defeat the seventh boss.
Lighting the Path Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Enchantments Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Sardol Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bloodless Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
Bloody Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

A small boy is born from the wind, appearing in front of a house. He doesn't know his purpose, but knows that this house is important. This house holds his answers--and the beginnings of an arduous journey that will introduce him to creatures and objects he has never seen, as well as bring him to question right and wrong.

Controls:
Arrow Keys - move
X - primary
C - secondary
V or I - inventory
Esc - menu
R - restart (the whole game!)
M - mute
W - soundtrack

Walkthrough: http://jayisgames.com/arc hives/2012/07/seedling.ph p#walkthrough

*Update - 07/13/2012*
-If you open a chest and die before "getting" the piece inside, you will now respawn with the piece.
-If you re-enter the lava dungeon after beating it, you can get back out.
-If you defeat the Lights and return, they won't respawn.

If these don't seem to happen for you, please try emptying your cache and reloading!

Guidology Review: http://guidology.com/2012 /07/19/seedling-guidology s-official-review/

Soundtrack: http://rekcahdam.bandcamp .com/album/seedling-ost
Roger's website: http://www.rekcahdam.com

Reviews


KajenxKajenx

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2012

Whelp, I'm stuck, and I can't find a walk through anywhere. I'm at the point where I got the yellow key, and I killed the "light" boss. I ended up by the "DESTROYER OF WORLDS" guy after I stepped int the light beam and I can't figure out what to do next. I didn't seem to get anything from the boss, and my key doesn't want to work at the only yellow lock I can find. Someone send me a PM, lol?

Otherwise the game is pretty fun! I really didn't like the "stab in the dark" place, though. It was more annoying than anything else. Dying in the water all the time is annoying too. Might as well just make it a wall until it's available. Also, when the night comes the screen is very hard to see. The little light doesn't do much of anything either, so it was often a challenge just to get around. Lastly, for something this big a map is really needed. I had a hard time figuring the layout out in the beginning (which tends to turn off casual gamers anyway) and even after playing for a few hours I did a lot of wandering.

My main criticism is, don't use mechanics that rely on precision when the controls aren't precise. Also, make sure the player can see, lol.



Davidk9292Davidk9292

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 12, 2012

An absolue masterpiece. Really impressed with this, especially with it's way of taking a simple game, and through the storytelling and designs built up it's own entire world within it. I've always been a fan of games that can do that.

I am a little confused, though. I'm certain I did everything; I beat all the bosses, got all the gold pieces, and acheived both endings, yet I'm missing a secret medal. What did I miss? It's the one between "Enchanments" and "Bloodless."


People find this review helpful!

ThuyDezThuyDez

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 12, 2012

The game is by no means unpolished or bad, however I do have some grief with how the game is set up. At any moment after getting the fire spell, you can go into the final area, effectively locking yourself in there with nothing to do but press R and restart the entire thing. You couldn't have a lock on the place? Really? Other than that, the game is indeed good, but come on.



JaplexJaplex

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 12, 2012

I got to the crystallized cave monster, but he never did anything. I assumed it was because I didn't have all the gold pieces. It would be nice to know which ones I missed instead of going back through every dungeon. It's a good game, though. A bit frustrating at times, but still fun.


People find this review helpful!
ConnorUllmann responds:

There's a door behind him--that's the way you need to go ;) He's a decoy!


rafaelkevelukrafaelkeveluk

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 12, 2012

Great game!
Feedback: If one is stupid enough or too excited with the dashing and stuff, they might fall in the water like i did as they open the first treasure box, losing the first gold piece thingie!