Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


BusesBuses

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 5, 2013

One of the options is missing on puzzle 7 so the game can't be beaten.



AardwolfAardwolf

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Interesting game, but I cannot finish it due to the dropdown list bugs!

I'm in level 7 about Australia video games. First I was totally confused, I only saw the first 6 options of every dropdown and thought those were really the only ones provided.

Then I read your comment in NG saying that you need to use arrows in the dropdowns. That is already not normal: normally dropdowns have a scrollbar in that case.

But then, if I press the arrow key, all 4 dropdowns change their option at the same time to the new one! That makes it impossible to complete the game.

Please fix those dropdowns dude! I'm pretty sure Flash must support better dropdowns. Try to figure out what the bug in your code is and fix it? Thanks!

I really like the design of the game, so it's a shame I can't give more stars...


tjubert responds:

Sadly this isn't a flash thing - it's a crappy feature of the drag and drop package I'm using. No way that I know to fix it.


SweenezSweenez

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 3, 2013

Seriously, I fucked my mind up to solve the 7th puzzle! There isn't the correct option: "Australia is wrong...". Why? I had to find a walkthrough in order to solve the puzzle and discover that the Australia option is not in this version of the game! Jeez.



HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

Could the writing have been ANY worse here?
- IF I've seen worse writing THEN this writing could be worse
- I've seen worse
...Oh. I guess it COULD have been worse then, but it was still really bad...

All that repetition! That has to be some of the messiest critical thinking I've ever seen! How do you take something so basic and logical and turn it into that mess?

It's full of poor assumptions. If I woke up with no idea where I was like that in a scifi setting I may question whether "the laws of human biology [may have] been broken" or if I'm even human at all, rather than just assume it and tell the machine it's faking. I'd at least CONSIDER it...

...AFTER considering that the machine may have meant "are you sure you're breathing a normal mixture of air" (hinting at airborne drugs/etc) rather than "are you sure you're breathing any oxygen at all". If you're going to have a character so brimming with logic that they must repeat everything multiple times then they should at least consider more than one interpretation.

It's full of it too:
1. I would like the lights to come on
2. IF I would like the lights to come on THEN I should press the switch
3. THEREFORE I should press the switch

Where's the "the switch will probably turn on the lights" step? Not to mention the "is this a trap" step.

Grr. I'll give it 1.5 stars for originality but everything else needs work.



Dracula642Dracula642

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I can't get passed the first page.


tjubert responds:

I can't help you unless you give me more detail.