Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


AlbinedemonAlbinedemon

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Bravo.



DatDevDatDev

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2013

OMG! VERY good game. I did end up beating it... holy crap.... I'm just a kid. I think I need a nap now...



lunasol1998lunasol1998

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

this game is amazing!!!!!!!!!



cheezepuffcheezepuff

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Warning: This review contains some pretty heavy spoilers.
For those that don't know, a red herring is somthing used to throw someone off the trail of somthing. A red herring is also a picled fish, and was used to throw off scent-traking dogs.
Now, about the Machines statement in 9/10, the yes//yes//yes//probably are in fact answers, to the four questions before that.
1. Smugness IS a revelant clue.
2. It IS a red herring.
3. The Machine DOES know what a red herring is.
4. You probably know what a red herring is.
Since the Machine THINKS smugness is a revelant clue, and it ALSO thinks it is a red herring, there is the contradistion.
About the game: It was awsome, the fact that some answers were hidden didn't give me too much trouble. It would have been nice for the "Brain" to give better hints, say, every 10 or so minutes that you've been stuck.
Music fits the game pretty well.
I hope there is a sequel.



PeanutButtersPeanutButters

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

I simply adored this game. It's originality was backed up by the fact that it was fun as hell to solve through this game. I do hope you are planning to create another game with the same rational thought element. I saw no problems with this, well deserved front page.


tjubert responds:

Which is more important to the game - the philosophical setting, or the logic puzzles?