Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


BaelishagBaelishag

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 8, 2012

@Elvenghost, Not really. I beat the game too, so your arguments are henceforth invalid.



TuquiTuqui

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Amazing game, it really made my brain work a sweat for some till I understood how the line of though was made.


tjubert responds:

These sorts of puzzles can be really rewarding, glad you enjoyed it.


coconuts11coconuts11

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 29, 2013

excelent and well thought out, very entertaining



JaliniJalini

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2012

For the last level, try replacing all the letters with words you know just as cat, dog etc, and it'll be actually very easy


People find this review helpful!

wantonmansoupwantonmansoup

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

That was absolutely phenomenal! The experience was invigorating. The storyline was confusing at times, having a strong correlation to that of real life ("is this real life?"). I favor very few games here, though I enjoy many of them to be sure, but this one truly is a favorite of mine.