Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


PoopieStupidPoopieStupid

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

if you think long enough about a question the logical answer will show its self wether or not you are logical human being or not... (possibly my highest rating for anything ever congradulations)



TheCentokTheCentok

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2012

Loved it ! Awesome brain teasers ! .. The last level game me a brainxplosion ...



darkflame831darkflame831

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

My only problem with this is that you seem to try to prove the existence of god through circular reasoning, circular reasoning is a fallacy therefore you havent proved god exists in any way because it's just like saying if god exists then he exists which is dumb


tjubert responds:

Glad you enjoyed it.

If you read the level goal for that argument you'll see the goal isn't to prove anything - just to make the argument valid. An argument can be logically valid without being true or informative.


TageuerTageuer

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

i luv syllogisms



KibateKibate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

I love logic based games, and this is one of the most logic based games i have ever seen(except the political question and red-herring one, as you had to know some insight to actually deal with these question. Don't get me wrong, i know you can solve those without knowing those two things(which i did) but it was still annoying) AND i have to be honest, in the very last puzzle, i guessed the third answer(correctly on the first try hah!). But all those weird symbols just screwed with my head to think straight.

I can't agree with the previous poster at all though, every puzzle had only one real solution, a logical one.

One downside though, the navigating(clickin on screen) wasn't that good, especially considering you couldn't go back if you accidently clicked a message away.

P.s.: I never solved a puzzle with the hints...i looked at one hint just to see what it was about, it was far more confusing than just to deal with the question on your own, just with plain logic.


People find this review helpful!