Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


Evanpogi1997Evanpogi1997

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 1, 2012

Thanks Alot! This is the topic we are learning from our Math subject (Geometry) , its called Deductive Reasoning. People who are smart in math and haven't studied this lesson will probably pass this game. Unless of course for the 10th level, you would really need to study the symbols of it.


People find this review helpful!

Midnight33Midnight33

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Incredibly difficult! Anyone looking for a challenge needs to play this. However, the ending wasn't very fulfilling.



Super1337Super1337

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Amazing logic game. It really gets the mind thinking. Some parts like the last were quite confusing. I thought that every of them appied for each other so I was confused but then I realized they didn't & won. Took me around 20 minutes to do the whole thing.



natyvidanatyvida

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 19, 2013

i enjoyed the game!



mutatiousmutatious

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

The last puzzle was actually the easiest for me. I've always been a more confident mathematician then philosopher and i have to say i hated if then statements in highschool but this was quiet entertaining. Very nice little game. I request more games like this. Please make some kind of sequal Got my brain warmed up this morning =)


People find this review helpful!