Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


FurubaFan22FurubaFan22

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 28, 2012

this game was amazing. it really made me think and use everything ive learned in my psychology classes. keep up the good work.



EmoPumpkinEmoPumpkin

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 22, 2013

This was spectacular. It was hard, and at times I found myself not being able to keep my mind on track because I was thinking so hard, but it's entirely solvable and not in the least impossible. I wish we were taught things like this in school, using a puzzle system such as this game, to learn problem solving skills.
Gawwwwsh I loved this game. Thanks, mate. It was a pleasure.


People find this review helpful!

nsdudensdude

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Wow, nice game! I kinda guessed the 3rd line of the last puzzle, because I don't think it makes any sense... Anyhow, great job, keep it up and maybe make a sequel! :)


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

I'm considering putting more mistakes into the next version of the game to encourage people to talk about it!


CorruptivisionCorruptivision

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2012

aw i didnt like the ending but great game!



mourniquetmourniquet

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

It's such a great shame for me that I cheated on particular levels...I'm such a irrational human being :(