Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


CrazybuttrueCrazybuttrue

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Last night I used rational thinking to prove that rational thinking is irrational (in certain situations). Fortunately for the sake of humanity, I've forgotten.
Sequel? :3



BlackhorsemanBlackhorseman

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

Wow!

I really liked this one. Innovative theme, nice soundtrack, an interesting concept of difficulty... I'd really like to see more of these. Aside, this has reminded me how badly I need to study formal logic and how it can, at times, help us to plan, decide and apply our intelligence.

Congrats!


People find this review helpful!

Chain-SwordChain-Sword

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

IF everybody is different, then nobody is special.
THEREFORE: IF nobody is special, I am not special.
IF everybody finishing this game got different rational potential realization rate, THEN everybody is special.
ASSUMPTION: Creator of this game did NOT design and code this game to be complicated enough for everyone to get different rational potential realization rate based on accuracy and speed of decisions during the game.
THEREFORE: Everybody finishing this game did NOT get different rational potential realization rate.
THEREFORE: Everybody is NOT different.
THEREFORE: Nobody is NOT special.
THEREFORE: I am special.

(Alternative ending: If you start with the claim that everybody is special, not only you come to realization that everybody is not special, you also cannot logically prove you being special. This game plays you as you play it.)

I definitely liked this game. I've never played game like this, advancing by making rational (and irrational) decisions, using logic.
As you can see, it inspired me to continue logical thinking by making full arguments.

It's not really a complaint, but it's a shame that this doesn't seem to have much replay-value. Still, definitely gonna bookmark this, and recommend to my friends.



borlyborly

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

a simple and easy game using logic and deductive reasoning
good work
the ending is unsatisfying and doesn't explain much of the storyline though
hope there will be follow up games to fix that x]



TwistedIndustriesTwistedIndustries

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Very good game.
Got confused but still very interesting.


People find this review helpful!