Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


starburnerstarburner

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Oh my God.
I FINALLY finished it.
My head actually hurts a little bit.
I Loved It!!
:)



DanteNecrossDanteNecross

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2013

I'm going to give this a five star rating because it was challenging yet not annoying, At the beginnig of the game I thought I wasn't going to be able of finishing it due to english is not my mother tongue, even though I have a good level. but I found it really fun and entertainig Congratulations!



sharpnovasharpnova

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

first impression: concept: awesome.

second impression (at 6/10): very clever. so far you haven't gone beyond implications, biconditionals (iff) and conjunctions/disjunctions. going much beyond that would be pretty far beyond the capability of your average gamer and i assume you want people to at least try to finish this and in a reasonable % of cases, succeed, so that was wise on your part.

third impression (at 9/10): still fun. i wasn't sure what a red herring was, but i still completed the puzzle. i think maybe you should have defined what a red herring was. it was obvious to me from the context, but it may not be to some others and that may stop them from completing the game.

fourth impression (at 10/10): i've never seen the underscores under the and/or symbols before. it wasn't necessary. was it just to make things look more complicated than they really were? 10/10 was one of the easiest puzzles in the game.

final impression: wasn't too pleased with the ending.

was still fun and a definite 5/5


tjubert responds:

Yeah, a lot of people don't like the ending. I like some of the thematic stuff - the mechnical puzzle at the end, the integration (or lack thereof) between emotion and reason, and the character's ambivalence to death. But it could have been better, I'm sure.


EligentEgoEligentEgo

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 8, 2012

THIS

Is amazing.

I know I give five stars to almost everything I try,but this conquers everything.



viking24viking24

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 31, 2012

Well the game was fun and interesting bu the endin suckes they should really make it a sequel...ike he wakes up in another room for more q's and a'sbut this time he get the hell out.