Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


ApalledApalled

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 11, 2012

@Elvenghost try scrolling down with your arrow keys :)



JaedydAutumn78JaedydAutumn78

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 17, 2012

Loved it!! More games like this that get you thinking, would like to see more with a longer storyline, the ending was a little predictable, but this is the best game I have played in a couple of years, 5 stars =)



derpiggishderpiggish

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I really enjoyed this game a lot. However, I must admit I was not the most fond of the ending. One of the best parts of this game for me was that the puzzles felt natural and engaging. They were neither so difficult as to be subject to trial and error, nor were they so easy that at any point I became bored.

A personal note- last year I took a critical thinking course at a local community college. Throughout this game I was constantly reminded of it, and I was glad to see critical thinking mentioned in the after-game splash screens.


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

Thanks everyone for all your compliments and feedback. I'd love to get a proper programmer onboard and do more with the gameplay concept.

How well it does here will tip the balance on that, but it's edging towards the front page of 'most viewed this week' after just 8 hours, so things are looking positive :-)


AnA000AnA000

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2012

loved it

the only problem is that when i used the arrow keys it changed ALL of my answers sometimes (Google Chrome)



vidkid0822vidkid0822

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 29, 2012

good game and very cool but mind=fucked