Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


baka4baka4

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Nice game really enjoyed it. Very mathematical. Once or twice I replace the statements with letters.



skulblaka71skulblaka71

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

I don't think I've ever had to think this hard when playing a game before. I love it :D I got them all on my own eventually. Great game.


People find this review helpful!

DoctorSiniestroDoctorSiniestro

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

a truly fine work, got me plastered to the keyboard for some time(mostly because of level 9, because it screwed my head real good, I´m still not sure if the walkthrough gave me the right answer or it is an error on your part)



VladimirVectorVladimirVector

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Logical arguments never move past simple, while I had never experienced some elements in the game it was still easy enough for me to never get one wrong, which was disappointing, don't get me wrong this game is both original in content and really fascinating to play, but I wish the story continued with some reall REALLY brutal stuff. Perhaps in a sequel. Thanks for the great game!



artsykeyartsykey

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Awwww, I loved this. Call me a nerd, but I simply love these kinds of problems. 5 stars!