Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


FirestarkFirestark

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2012

@ElvenGhost, You are sadly mistaken. I beat this game, from chapter 1-11 out of ten chapters. Do not accuse the game of being a fail when your failure just exceeds your ability to contain it, and must spew the fail onto other things around you. The game was great. 5/5 for great story, and amazing brainteasers. In truth, while shamefully admitting this, I had to run a searching algorithm for the answer on the door. I wasn't able to make perfect use of the key, and luckily there weren't too many possible answers, making it easy for me to find the correct answer. Not excellent animation, but quickly forgiven because of how great the game is. Please keep making games like this, this was excellent.


People find this review helpful!

yipninjayipninja

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 7, 2012

That'll do piggy, that'll do.


People find this review helpful!

ElvenGhostElvenGhost

Rated 2 / 5 stars August 6, 2012

2/5 Because 7/10 has no correct answer, to answer it correctly the option for it is missing. Spent a crap load of time trying every possible answer and kept getting false. Don't make a logic game if you don't plan to make it beatable. If it was a mistake it can always be fixed. If it had a correct answer then I'd make it a solid 5. I enjoyed it till you're game decided to be fail.



memariomemario

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 6, 2012

Based on this game if I am a rational human being then the game might be beaten. No human likes to be completly ratonal therefore there is small percentage of people who may not beat the game. Therefore someone who's not rational may not beat this game.


People find this review helpful!

SynluSynlu

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 5, 2012

IF I like epic games
AND I like this game
THEN This game is epic!