Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


SweenezSweenez

Rated 2 / 5 stars February 3, 2013

Seriously, I fucked my mind up to solve the 7th puzzle! There isn't the correct option: "Australia is wrong...". Why? I had to find a walkthrough in order to solve the puzzle and discover that the Australia option is not in this version of the game! Jeez.



JustAnotherAssassinJustAnotherAssassin

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars February 1, 2013

I love the concept, but the drop down menus are terrible, the puzzles often didn't accept perfectly logical arguments that differ slightly from your template.
Also the dialog kinda felt a little condescending by patting you on the back for every frankly, pretty easy logical puzzle you solve.

I'd like to see a more polished version of this with harder puzzles and a better input method. (possibly fields to type in freely using variables predetermined by you?)


People find this review helpful!

IdeenfabrikIdeenfabrik

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 24, 2013

When you are cornered in a circle, triangulate it.



DaggerPenDaggerPen

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

Fun, but the buttons seem a bit hesitant to respond. I have to click on "continue" multiple times to move on.



GrozomahGrozomah

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 20, 2012

Could be a great game, however the answers really need to be listed all at once or have a scroll bar.
I like the tests, the atmosphere and the story is great. Fix above mentioned and it's perfect.