Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


TuquiTuqui

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Amazing game, it really made my brain work a sweat for some till I understood how the line of though was made.


tjubert responds:

These sorts of puzzles can be really rewarding, glad you enjoyed it.


PatchM13PatchM13

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

It's a nice little logic game, for sure. Near the end, I was relying on the Brain hints for a little bit, but on the whole, still a great way to make you think.


People find this review helpful!

NinTy1337NinTy1337

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Loved the style and thoughts behind the game.
Seems really unique to me.


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

Thanks!


thelads1thelads1

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Good game to test the brain, but some people might not be bothered to play this game, for this game would remind me of a test I usually take at school, with all the biology questions and stuff. Not really a game, if you ask me.
Therefore, I give you a two, since there are at LEAST good graphics.



playman5playman5

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

music fits perfectly and game is similar with-this is the work of fiction or hows that game
game made my brains to hurt lol but still i like this


People find this review helpful!