Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


agalagadagalagad

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I love this kind of games, and i loved the dificulty, i must admit that i had some problems because english is my second lenguage u_u, but is a wonderful game anyway, i really want other like this, a sequel or anything with thsi sistem



LORDOFWAR108LORDOFWAR108

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

LOVED the game absolutely amazing, and I love the music but it gets annoying after a while, thank you very very much for this magnificent game and I hope to see sequel :)



klikkoklikko

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I really enjoyed this mind teasing exercise, I felt like achieved something at every completed puzzle, and I really liked the game setup. I hope you will make more in this genre.



ZhonZhon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Very interesting game concept, I really enjoyed it. It was just a little too sarcastic for my tastes but overall still funny and enjoyable. The puzzles were easy for me until the last one with the arbitrary symbols.


tjubert responds:

Thanks. Yeah, I'd scale back a bit on the voice if I did it over, I think.


darkflame831darkflame831

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

My only problem with this is that you seem to try to prove the existence of god through circular reasoning, circular reasoning is a fallacy therefore you havent proved god exists in any way because it's just like saying if god exists then he exists which is dumb


tjubert responds:

Glad you enjoyed it.

If you read the level goal for that argument you'll see the goal isn't to prove anything - just to make the argument valid. An argument can be logically valid without being true or informative.