Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


GeroGirlGeroGirl

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Oh my~ Loved it!
Made me feel challenged! I love a challenge!
Definitely a game I am going to recommend. Link going on my Facebook after posting this.

Thought put into the game 5/5
Look of the game fits the feel 5/5
Atmosphere 5/5
Overall Satisfaction 10/5

Yes GEROGIRL whole heartily APPROVES!


People find this review helpful!

AhrimanOfTheLightAhrimanOfTheLight

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

Really easy until the last step, when it falls in a loophole with no meaning whatsoever.
At least semantically and it is impossible to get out of it apart trial-and-error.
Fix this logical fallacy and you'll get 5 stars.
For now only 1 because it is unacceptable to see a logic-based-game fall on things like this.


tjubert responds:

Which bit exactly are you referring to?


Dracula642Dracula642

Rated 1 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I can't get passed the first page.


tjubert responds:

I can't help you unless you give me more detail.


AirtamisAirtamis

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

This was a very nice game, definitely made you think. If you made another game of this genre, I really wouldn't complain.



derpiggishderpiggish

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 8, 2012

I really enjoyed this game a lot. However, I must admit I was not the most fond of the ending. One of the best parts of this game for me was that the puzzles felt natural and engaging. They were neither so difficult as to be subject to trial and error, nor were they so easy that at any point I became bored.

A personal note- last year I took a critical thinking course at a local community college. Throughout this game I was constantly reminded of it, and I was glad to see critical thinking mentioned in the after-game splash screens.


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

Thanks everyone for all your compliments and feedback. I'd love to get a proper programmer onboard and do more with the gameplay concept.

How well it does here will tip the balance on that, but it's edging towards the front page of 'most viewed this week' after just 8 hours, so things are looking positive :-)