Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


SilverSoulPokemonTDSilverSoulPokemonTD

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

SPOILER ALERT: LAST LEVEL SOLUTION!!!

A; -E; O .

Why? I have no idea. I suck at math and my brains wok gramatically, so I proposed affirmatives that could make me reach the awnser. Here's how I did it.

G = The sky is blue
IF M = I know that THEREFORE G = The sky is blue AND A = I can see
THEREFORE A = I can see

IF M = I know that AND A = I can see THEN NOT E = I am blind (or: I am not blind)
THEREFORE NOT E = I am blind

IF O = All that I stated is logical AND V = Correct THEN NOT E = I am blind OR R = Stupid
THEREFORE O = All that I stated is correct

That's it, though the logic gets a bit limp at the end, I did it.


tjubert responds:

Thanks for the rating, but would you mind not putting the final puzzle solution un-obscured at the top of the comments? Thanks!


N1NJACOWBOYN1NJACOWBOY

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

On 7, the word "douche" is not in a game rated E. My grandfather was helping me with this (he likes logic and puzzle games) and he saw that and nearly exploded at me. other than that I loved it.



Out-Of-JokesOut-Of-Jokes

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Interesting? Yeah.
Fun? Yeah!
Challenging? YEAH!
Frustrating? HELL YEAH!
1-5 Interesting, gets gradually better and better. Makes you think a while.
6 I guess you had something preventing you from making better menus, which made me ALMOST rage-quit, 'till i checked the comments. Fine. BUT, couldn't you make some reminder IN-GAME? Wasted a good 20 minutes there.
7-9 Still great! 8 and 9 made me REALLY glad I checked Newgrounds today.They were definitely the best levels so far. First time I used help.
10 Now THIS is Madness! Just what the hell AM I supposed to do here!? I kinda understood what it's about, but then? I mean:
G
M=>(G=>A)
M
Forget solving it. I dont' get it! (And I couldn't even think of anything with the other 2) I was wrecking my brain on the middle one because one letter by itself means nothing. Even if it has some connection with the others, what kind? I was on this one for a good hour and a half. Still can't think of ANYTHING!

So, long story short:
1 Tell us about those menus in-game.
2 Give some link to a walkthrough. Video, written guide, anything. ("Brain" was handy, though not enough).
With codes like the level 10, some more help from "Brain" would really mean a lot.
3 A bit longer? Could do that, though this was plenty to keep me entertained for the whole day. Dont' have to though.
4 Do something about those^ and you have an PERFECT GAME!
5 Take my 5/5!


tjubert responds:

Thanks mate, uploading a new build now with in-game warnings, and walkthrough is listed above!

5/5 accepted :-)

I wonder - if you had a problem with the dropdowns, are you able to reduce the text size in your browser settings and see if it helps?


BeccaxSamaBeccaxSama

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Great game.
But I can't figure out 4/10... It the one about oxygen



madameshadowennmadameshadowenn

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

I really, really enjoyed this, although I found it infuriating XD Sadly, I guess my logic skills are lacking, as 9/10 has me and my sister stumped, but that hasn't put me off the concept at all. Congratulations on a great game :)


tjubert responds:

Loads of people struggle with 9. It's a lot simpler than you think, you just need to make sure you've shown your working. Don't be afraid to state your interim conclusion (even if you seem like you're repeating itself).