Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


TheSageOfThymeTheSageOfThyme

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Great overall game (I loved Penumbra, so I immediately knew I'd like it). The levels get a bit annoying, since at some point I just started putting them in random orders in hopes of getting it right, but the story itself was well thought out.



TharosTheDragonTharosTheDragon

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

So here's the thing. People are confused by this:
G
M->(G->A)
M
Because they think it's all one line and the G over the 2 M's is all one symbol, like putting a letter over another letter is some kind of operation. You could make it clearer by numbering each line the way the lines were numbered in all the other puzzles, like this:
1. G
2. M->(G->A)
3. M


People find this review helpful!

Midnight33Midnight33

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Incredibly difficult! Anyone looking for a challenge needs to play this. However, the ending wasn't very fulfilling.



VaragtPVaragtP

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Wow amazing that was. It was so refreshing to play this, I wish more games had this kind of respect for their players intelligence. On the last puzzle I actually had to bring out my paper and pen to be able to solve it. That does not happen often these days and is a true testament of a great game! :D



ClamageClamage

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Love it so far, although it's spelled 'pail' (in 5/10). Sorry to be a pedant, but what did you expect from people who play this game?


People find this review helpful!