Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


EpicArtifexEpicArtifex

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2012

It's a very nice concept, gameplay wise at least. I haven't had any of the issues with interface or whatever that other people seem to be having. Perhaps It's just my choice of browser.
However, as shinobody mentioned, some of the logical assumptions made are slightly dodgy, and the plot was lacking a little. however, as is proved with the little code bit at the end, at least in the context of a game it doesn't really matter what the facts are, so long as for gameplay purposes you are aware that A is definitely A, and B is definitely B.

It would've been nicer if it had been a little longer, and if the puzzles had had a more practical application. If you're making a sequel, I think it'd be nice if some of the puzzles actively influenced what you did in-game. That way there are multiple endings, depending on how good your reasoning was throughout. While I appreciate that it was aiming for the whole 'mysterious sci-fi sadistic robot' theme, the fact that almost all the puzzles were just questions posed to you by an obscure little machine makes the plot feel slightly lacking.

However it's a very nice idea, and it'd be excellent if you could expand on it a little more.



MockingBird96MockingBird96

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 10, 2012

The only thing I was thinking all game was "please no code or numbers, please no code or numbers, pleasFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU UUUUUUUUUUUCK"

AWESOME GAME, make another one, this time with options, like multiple endings or something like that, for some people (not me) been killed in the end is a turn off


People find this review helpful!

Jayu223Jayu223

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

I personally enjoyed this little game.



shinobodyshinobody

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

Good idea, but leaps of logic are horrifying. How does protagonist even knows a) he's actually alive b) he's actually human? It kinda defeats the point of making game about person in state of philosophical uncertainty - protagonist's stance is heavily ignorant, too much relying on what is familiar, and complete inverse of philosophical one.
Also, there seem to be problems with controls, especially with the buttons and dropdowns. Honestly - people (amateurs) out there are making games with split second ten-button-at-once-pressed commands, and you fail at making a goddamn dropdown, interface standard that's been used in software since 90's? And we're in 2010's? That's a fail.
Also, I'm disappointed at the story. Or more like, lack of it.


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

Agreed. The sequel will be better!


thakurthakur

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 9, 2012

that duck is also a rabbit


People find this review helpful!