Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


esenozbayesenozbay

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

the game was fun and the atmosphere was nice. the problems can be solved with basic knowledge of logic. without that, it might be hard for statements to make sense. i agree that the ending was a little too empty. the game should answer the questions if it's going to raise any. at the end of the game, we know nothing about ourselves, or what is outside the room. why did they even kill us?you might consider changing the ending. but, as everybody else, i enjoyed the game. good work :)



volughuntervolughunter

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

a great idea with a simple idea but very hard at some point
i love this kinds of brain/logic puzzles
would love to see more
however work on the ending its very dispointing
maybe that the character learned how to escape the ending and investegate the test what effect it had?
but hey it was a great game and for a short game the ending has not that much influence on the feeling of the game, it was great and it feels great solving the problem you feel that you got the logic
of the riddle/puzzlel
would love to see more of this



mittharmitthar

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

good game, with great logical points, however, the ending.... a let down. i would recommended (so that i do not give the real ending away) adding onto the questions a very quite way to learn about the player. the way i would do it, is to have a question with many different answers. then have more endings based on those answers. i know i like a game where are a few different endings.



AllenBladeAllenBlade

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

4.5.....my head hurts...xD


People find this review helpful!

DeidreH87DeidreH87

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 11, 2012

This game is very interesting and pretty dang tough. Very good game!