Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


PoopieStupidPoopieStupid

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

if you think long enough about a question the logical answer will show its self wether or not you are logical human being or not... (possibly my highest rating for anything ever congradulations)



ninetails593ninetails593

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

Level 9 was probably the worst, because it is the only level in which a statement is repeated word for word. Not only word for word, but back to back. This lead me to assume I had the answer wrong.



yomaster17yomaster17

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

I love that game. Im really hoping there is a sequel.
Thanks for the game! i really like games that make you think



sirkiller475sirkiller475

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

This was an interesting game, took a bit for my brain to start off but once i was underway it was cake up until 9, had to think hard for that one, then on 10 i just freakin quit.
Found the walk-through and finished.
for the sequel i would request no code puzzles but i doubt you would listen.
And i apologize for not reviewing this in the logic puzzle form my brain can unwind puzzles it just can weave them.
This was a fantastic trip and i would love to experience another one perhaps a little long, though i can only imagine how difficult to make these riddles so i will simply await the next.



ryanIsryanIs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 13, 2012

I enjoyed this game. I ended up sitting here longer than expected. I was scared, due to the dark feel this game gave off, however the logical arguments kept me stationed. Thanks for a mind-assertive game, keep designing.
-Ryan
p.s. I'm sharing this game on my NG page because it was great.