Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


coconuts11coconuts11

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 29, 2013

excelent and well thought out, very entertaining



NinjamilNinjamil

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 22, 2013

Frustrating.
Excellent but very frustrating.



akurei00akurei00

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 20, 2013

Add a scroll bar on the drop downs. I couldn't figure out what was going on there for awhile. Once I discovered there were other options that I couldn't see things became much easier logically. However, when I pressed the down arrow it would change all the answers in the column - causing me to have to resolve multiple logic problems over again. Usually I would forget that I had to re-correct them to begin with and would get the answer wrong multiple times before I realized the error.

Aside from that, it was a decent logic game. Different than any that I've ever played so it was enjoyable. But the controls had me on the verge of quitting many times. For that reason I couldn't go any higher than a 3/5.



KaoriiKaorii

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2013

IF the puzzles were varied and interesting, THEN it was satisfying to solve each puzzle.
IF it was satisfying to solve each puzzle, THEN I did not fall into boredom while playing it.
IF I did not fall into boredom while playing it, THEN I really enjoyed this game.

The puzzles were varied and interesting.

THEREFORE I really enjoyed this game.


People find this review helpful!

BusesBuses

Rated 2 / 5 stars March 5, 2013

One of the options is missing on puzzle 7 so the game can't be beaten.