Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


CrazybuttrueCrazybuttrue

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Last night I used rational thinking to prove that rational thinking is irrational (in certain situations). Fortunately for the sake of humanity, I've forgotten.
Sequel? :3



bqk95bqk95

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Cool concept! The game had me thinking for quite a while but perhaps a little bit more challenging would be better as people tends to get lucky when multiple choices are presented.



xxnitramxxxxnitramxx

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

there are few mistakes on the game:
Level 3:
If there is a perfect god then he wouldn't allow the belief that there is a perfect god to be in error, however, there are many people who think that belief is an error, because of that, the belief for some people is an error, therefor, there is no perfect god.

Level 4:
IF I am alive THEN the laws of human biology have NOT been broken OR I am NOT breathing oxygen
I am alive AND the laws of human biology havenâEUTMt been broken
THEREFORE I am breathing oxygen
this one above this line of words also works, as there may be many other things besides oxygen that a cell can use to work properly

Level 8:
You can be a worldwide renown escapist and STILL have a good chance to get caught.
If you get caught and the machine (example) torture you, you will be sad (in case that's your reaction) and you will not be in touch with your emotions, and like the machine once said "emotions + logic = incompatible"

Level 9:
there is a big mistake there, as no one can tell you/you cant know if the machine is lying to you, so in other words, the machine never contradicted itself, or it may use a different perception than yours/standar human perception

Level 10:
i could do it, a little bit unncessesary, but possible, not so easy to understand the basics, though.


People find this review helpful!

iktpq2008iktpq2008

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Amazing game :), really got me thinking in a very interesting way



ice52usice52us

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

I felt that in most problems there were multiple possible answers.
This did pose a challenge as you had to appeal to what the author expected.