Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


TonyMuhplaahTonyMuhplaah

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Can't zoom out, can't play the game. Please fix right click, it's a pain in the ass to not see the whole words.



mourniquetmourniquet

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

It's such a great shame for me that I cheated on particular levels...I'm such a irrational human being :(



JinjoJamJinjoJam

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

This game is pretty freaking awesome. I like the idea of logic being the gameplay. The music is freaky and creepy, which fits the theme. Also, marmite is best with cheese xD


People find this review helpful!

kvenomkvenom

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

The game was great. The scarry theme in the whole process, the logic riddles - I just love them! (sorry for my bad english)
The hardest, as always, was the last one(10). I spent 30 min, trying to remember the logic formulas, for the code.

BTW, what is the REAL ending in this game?*you haven't shown the conclusion, or you are gonna take it to the sequel(can be great)?*

PS: My brain is still spinin' like a dynamo machine!)))))


tjubert responds:

Thanks!

You saw the real ending. I'd like to do more with the concept, but I don't know that I'd continue this particular story.


AardwolfAardwolf

Rated 2 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Interesting game, but I cannot finish it due to the dropdown list bugs!

I'm in level 7 about Australia video games. First I was totally confused, I only saw the first 6 options of every dropdown and thought those were really the only ones provided.

Then I read your comment in NG saying that you need to use arrows in the dropdowns. That is already not normal: normally dropdowns have a scrollbar in that case.

But then, if I press the arrow key, all 4 dropdowns change their option at the same time to the new one! That makes it impossible to complete the game.

Please fix those dropdowns dude! I'm pretty sure Flash must support better dropdowns. Try to figure out what the bug in your code is and fix it? Thanks!

I really like the design of the game, so it's a shame I can't give more stars...


tjubert responds:

Sadly this isn't a flash thing - it's a crappy feature of the drag and drop package I'm using. No way that I know to fix it.