Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


blurrymadnessblurrymadness

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Very good! Pure logic! As a computer science major with a philosophy and math background I found this easy and fun!

Anyone who doubts that there was only one correct solution to each and every page means they don't understand pure, theoretical logic. You'll go to college soon enough :)


People find this review helpful!

KibateKibate

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

I love logic based games, and this is one of the most logic based games i have ever seen(except the political question and red-herring one, as you had to know some insight to actually deal with these question. Don't get me wrong, i know you can solve those without knowing those two things(which i did) but it was still annoying) AND i have to be honest, in the very last puzzle, i guessed the third answer(correctly on the first try hah!). But all those weird symbols just screwed with my head to think straight.

I can't agree with the previous poster at all though, every puzzle had only one real solution, a logical one.

One downside though, the navigating(clickin on screen) wasn't that good, especially considering you couldn't go back if you accidently clicked a message away.

P.s.: I never solved a puzzle with the hints...i looked at one hint just to see what it was about, it was far more confusing than just to deal with the question on your own, just with plain logic.


People find this review helpful!

LEVaughnLEVaughn

Rated 0 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Now I will say this - the CONCEPT of the game is excellent and educational however its the logic of the creator that prevents the game from reaching its perfection. Meaning - whatever the CREATOR believes to be true is automatically true, therefore you cannot state another fact even if it is in fact a fact.

Meaning - there are multiple things in these situations that sound quite alike or sound logical to assume. However there is only one right answer and its not an opinion based thing - its a very piss poor design flaw where the creator makes it so only one thing is law / correct / right. I don't like the fact that I'm given 7 choices for one thing and only one thing works for it. I'm not going to sort through the combinations of multiple choices for multiple things to come out with something that makes absolutely no sense what so ever.

Maybe its a nit-picking problem, but I see it as a general over-sight in design. Either you give some level of choice, or you limit the options and make the options more varied / logical.

0/10 - Excellent concept - poor portrayal.



FritzyLuvaFritzyLuva

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

Who_would_have_thunk_the_year_of_geom etry_i_just_finished_would_actually_c ome_in_handy!Thank_you_Mr.Tompkins!



ZelnasZelnas

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 14, 2012

1. ASSUMPTION: Educational games are usually the product of a teacher creating a new teaching method AND/OR an assigned student project
2. IF this game taught me something THEN it is educational
3. FACT: This game taught me the basics of propositional calculus
4. THEREFORE the creator of this game is likely a teacher or student of propositional calculus


People find this review helpful!
tjubert responds:

Good deduction - I'm studying a philosophy Masters degree.