Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


BlackToothSaberBlackToothSaber

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Great idea, good puzzles. However puzzle 10 is just... no. There was no symbol there to represent "IF" in the key. There was also a symbol of an arrow going in both directions that wasn't even in the key. Generally puzzle 10 made absolutely no sense at all to me, and I'm pretty good at puzzles in my opinion. I love the concept but something like puzzle 10 should just be avoided.



editorncheifeditorncheif

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

What a sick, twisted, glorious, amazing, worth-while game. It was fantastic. I look forward to more things similar to this.



VladimirVectorVladimirVector

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Logical arguments never move past simple, while I had never experienced some elements in the game it was still easy enough for me to never get one wrong, which was disappointing, don't get me wrong this game is both original in content and really fascinating to play, but I wish the story continued with some reall REALLY brutal stuff. Perhaps in a sequel. Thanks for the great game!



OneWhoListensOneWhoListens

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

Nice, impressive game! I would not have expected someone to make elementary symbologic logic into an entertaining format, but this was expertly constructed. I admit myself confused by the choice of symbols on the last scene, but nonetheless it was an enjoyable forage into logical puzzles.
Much better than the average room escape game, that's for sure!



tonymac2421tonymac2421

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 15, 2012

i beat it ._. and im no genius..just simplify it and it will be ok, hard game to start off but as soon as momentum is built it becomes difficult still lol


People find this review helpful!