Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


LordKalgalathLordKalgalath

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

An excellent concept. but that loud-ass noise that plays everytime you click the button to answer kinda fucked it up for me.



EngineerRookEngineerRook

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Good game, but there's something I don't understand. ---SPOILER BELOW---

If you're alive, how are you breaking the laws of human biology?


tjubert responds:

You're not. EITHER the laws of biology have been broken OR you're breithing oxygen.


Tori979Tori979

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

This
Just, this.
I LOVE it.
This is one of the most original things I've played in a while. It was really well done. The way you did the hints was good. The very last puzzle was a beech, and I'm still not sure if I entirely get why it worked, but this is still an epic game. I want MORE.
1. I like this game.
2. IF I like this game, I should give it a five out of five.
3. THEREFORE I will give this game a five out of five.



redghost1313redghost1313

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Very well done! The screens, music, and the narrative set the dark mood. The puzzles (for once) made me think very hard. Also the Dark humor relieves just enough tension to let your guard down to what could happen.



BlackToothSaberBlackToothSaber

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Great idea, good puzzles. However puzzle 10 is just... no. There was no symbol there to represent "IF" in the key. There was also a symbol of an arrow going in both directions that wasn't even in the key. Generally puzzle 10 made absolutely no sense at all to me, and I'm pretty good at puzzles in my opinion. I love the concept but something like puzzle 10 should just be avoided.