Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


starburnerstarburner

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Oh my God.
I FINALLY finished it.
My head actually hurts a little bit.
I Loved It!!
:)



artsykeyartsykey

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Awwww, I loved this. Call me a nerd, but I simply love these kinds of problems. 5 stars!



fishinguyfishinguy

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Much better than the standard "click on random objects to escape the room" adventure. I would really enjoy a second chapter. some stronger background music would be nice though.



SnoopyChickenSnoopyChicken

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

Great stuff, I did a couple of logic courses at uni so it wasn't too tricky but it was nice to have the refresher.
Nice art and the sound is decent.



ccbogus09ccbogus09

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 16, 2012

For those confused on level 10, the arrow pointing in one direction is an IF statement (for example, if you have A -> B, you would read it as IF A, THEN B) and the arrow pointing in both directions is a bi-conditional (for example, if you have A <-> B, you would read it as IF AND ONLY IF A, THEN B). This game really helps if you had a 'Proofs' class in college! BTW, it was also amazing! Very challenging at times even though I did have prior knowledge on the concept. If only my Proofs class had been this much fun...