Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


yundiliyundili

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 19, 2013

i dont quite understand the puzzle in level 7...

in your walkthrough... you stated the answer to number 2 is:
"IF video games should be treated similarly to films THEN Australia is wrong to ban 18+ video games"
i filled up all the answers but cant seem to find one that has the answer "Australia is wrong to ban 18+ video games"


People find this review helpful!

DatDevDatDev

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 8, 2013

OMG! VERY good game. I did end up beating it... holy crap.... I'm just a kid. I think I need a nap now...



Topher53Topher53

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 5, 2013

Great game. Tough to solve on first try, but not impossible!



MyuMyu

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 2, 2013

I'm sure you're aware of this, but the goal here isn't to prove "True" inferences; they're Valid. That's a really important distinction to make in the practice of logic. It's a neat idea, but a misleading education can be worse than no education at all.



DanteNecrossDanteNecross

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 24, 2013

I'm going to give this a five star rating because it was challenging yet not annoying, At the beginnig of the game I thought I wasn't going to be able of finishing it due to english is not my mother tongue, even though I have a good level. but I found it really fun and entertainig Congratulations!