Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


PhysiczZPhysiczZ

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars July 26, 2012

Not Bad



TermoTermo

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2012

I thought when i clicked this i would enjoy it, since i'm a very logical person, and i breezed through the first few puzzles easily like they were nothing.

But i came to a wall that wasn't really an issue of logic, but in the literacy and understandability of the questions being asked, and the context to fill in the arguments.

For Example the "Red Herring" question had absolutely nothing to do with absolute logic, and was just a fill in the bubble fest. Did you want us to logically prove the machine was not perfect by saying it was? Did you want us to prove it by saying it wasn't?

The Text that could be used in the bubbles would have easily worked in almost any of the places and still made a substantial argument against the machine being perfect. Additionally, it was flat out confusing as to what exactly smugness or a red herring had anything to do with each other, considering a "Red Herring" is often thought of as intentionally distracting and the machine used the correct context in claiming it was relevant that it was being intentionally distracting.

I hope that wall of text makes sense, but pretty much it felt like you wanted us to use one path to prove something, when multiple paths would have made as much sense and in a game where you choose your own logic, both should have been viable.


People find this review helpful!

lemke0lemke0

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 25, 2012

Is really good, and I'd like to see more. This should have ton and tons of levels.

But, please, less text. The game don't need to tell me how I feel, I think it breaks the mood.



ChizloChizlo

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

Wow, what an entertaining and at the same time mentally challenging game! I really wish that we had problems like this to solve when we did this is geometry... before now I really hated doing these... but now I have a sudden interest in them. Of course the storyline kept glued to the screen too, along with the clever humor I think every good game of this sort should have. This is the best flash game I've played in a while, thanks for the breath of fresh air!



DoctorSiniestroDoctorSiniestro

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

a truly fine work, got me plastered to the keyboard for some time(mostly because of level 9, because it screwed my head real good, I´m still not sure if the walkthrough gave me the right answer or it is an error on your part)