Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


R-TicR-Tic

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 3, 2012

Aye... I really got stuck on the Michael Atkinson puzzle. I really love this game. It really deserves 5+ stars than the 5 I already gave it. I would love to see a sequel to this.


People find this review helpful!

AlexCavaco7AlexCavaco7

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 2, 2012

Love the Game, the story was engaging and the idea a blast... It was a little bit to short, I hope for a longer sequel.

A thousand stars by me, if I could...


People find this review helpful!

asasunasasun

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 1, 2012

this is taking ssssooooo long its like me trying to run a football feild



crazymeriocrazymerio

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 1, 2012

hmmm......lots to think about...



Evanpogi1997Evanpogi1997

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 1, 2012

Thanks Alot! This is the topic we are learning from our Math subject (Geometry) , its called Deductive Reasoning. People who are smart in math and haven't studied this lesson will probably pass this game. Unless of course for the 10th level, you would really need to study the symbols of it.


People find this review helpful!