Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


bunnyphyonbunnyphyon

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 4, 2012

grate game, and i have to agree with jam7ie and bdenra :D



maffiosymaffiosy

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 4, 2012

I really liked this game, it was interesting and challenging, I look forward to more of your games.



jam7iejam7ie

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 4, 2012

Interesting game. I think people who deal with logic often will find the game a light brain teaser, but those who do not will struggle with the "new" concepts to them. I enjoyed the game and music within, I just would have liked to have been challenged a bit more towards the end.


People find this review helpful!

kewlboy05kewlboy05

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars August 3, 2012

got really hard on oxeygeon part



D1234583D1234583

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 3, 2012

i dont understand, it wont let me go past the part with "the assumption that a perfect god exists" part, and i feel like some of the screen gets cut off in the window.