Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jul 8, 2012 | 6:59 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place July 9, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

UPDATE 4 (8th September 2012): IR/RATIONAL INVESTIGATOR ANNOUNCED!

http://steamcommunity.com /sharedfiles/filedetails/
?id=92933628&searchtext=

UPDATE 3: ir/rational has made the front page with 45,000 plays in under a week! Thank you everyone - and keep your eyes peeled for announcements in the coming months!

UPDATE 2: Walkthrough available here: http://blog.tomjubert.com /2012/07/irrational-walkt hrough.html

UPDATE 1: Made 10,000 views and the Popular Games list in 24 hours! Thanks to everyone who's played!

Argue the toss in a twisted tale of logic...

In ir/rational you complete, create and discredit arguments by selecting propositions and filling in the blanks. It's a puzzle game based on propositional logic, and a graphic adventure all in one - only here you don't so much need to escape the room as prove why you'd even want to.

- Unique, language-based argument system: formulate logical proofs to progress through the game

- Dark philosophical comedy by Tom Jubert, writer of Penumbra, Driver: San Francisco and FTL.

- 10 screens and roughly half an hour of intelligent, challenging and inventive gameplay

- Musical score by award-winning composer Mikko Tarmia

My website: www.tomjubert.com
My narrative design blog, Plot is Gameplay's Bitch: blog.tomjubert.com

Instructions:
- Click to progress story
- Complete the arguments by selecting options from the drop-down menus

NB Some systems don't display all the dropdown options at once, and you have to use the arrow keys to scroll.

If you can't see the right answer, chances are you can resolve the problem with the arrow keys. Hope it's not dampened your enthusiasm!

Reviews


memariomemario

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 6, 2012

Based on this game if I am a rational human being then the game might be beaten. No human likes to be completly ratonal therefore there is small percentage of people who may not beat the game. Therefore someone who's not rational may not beat this game.


People find this review helpful!

SynluSynlu

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 5, 2012

IF I like epic games
AND I like this game
THEN This game is epic!



danny4kkdanny4kk

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 5, 2012

Music went well with this game i must admit i found myself going "Ooooh" in time with the sounds of the music, found it a nice effect.



SuttonianSuttonian

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 5, 2012

holing: If a combo-box does not display a scrollbar most people simply do not know there are more options available, as they use the scrollbar or mousewheel to navigate combo-boxes. Whilst the game might not be 'broken' it's not intuitive, many people will get stuck there and should be fixed.
It has nothing to do with stupidity.

That said, I've enjoyed the game so far.



ryancheese1ryancheese1

Rated 0 / 5 stars August 5, 2012

Sucks because at the start it just freezes and nothing happens. Absolutely nothing...