Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2012 | 1:38 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 21, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 27, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update the first: Thanks everyone for helping us get daily second. And thanks to the Newgrounds staff for the front page! Leave a review and let us know what you thought of the episode, we like reading them!

----------

The Wonders of the Universe is ready to launch! But as fate would have it, Quintin Quasar gets caught up in a depressed Cleaning Bot's plans to flee the ship. Can they survive the barren world they're stranded on?

Episode 3, 'Shanghai Dune' completes the 3 episode Maiden Voyage arc where we introduce you to the world and characters of 'Wonders of the Universe.' The highlight of this episode is no doubt RUT.2, an eccentric Cleaning Robot who finds a little too much joy in his work.

We all pitched in animation in this one, so you might notice a little bit of a change in animation styles throughout the cartoon. We hope it's not too jarring. Most future episodes will be made with one main animator.

We hope you all enjoy! And you'll be happy to know that Episode 4 is already well into the animation stage of production!

- The Toonwerks Crew

Voices:

Xander Mobus (Motley-Fool)
Chris Niosi (Kirbopher)
Miranda Gauvin (dellaciel)
Deven Mack (D-Mac-Double)
Edward Bosco (Darkwolf)
Edwyn Tiong (Omahdon)
Chris Boe (BOE)
Mickey "8-Bit Mickey" Paradis

Production:

Mark Schneider (th1rt3en)
Joseph Blanchette (Legendary Frog)
Casey McDonald (Xiphon)
Chris Boe (BOE)

Reviews


smaertenssmaertens

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 25, 2012

This series is really well done for something you find on the internet. I did notice a lot of matierial which you guys may or may not have noticed appeared in other sci-fi series, movies, and books.

The brass british service android stranded on a dessert planet after jettisoning an escape pod reminded me strongly of c3p0 from Star Wars (as was likely the intent) but was also trying to kill himself as Bender from Futurama does in the pilot episode and throughout the rest of the series

The characters were chased by a sand worm which the series Dune is famous for

The captain of the ship sounds like Patrick Stewart, who played Captain Picard in Star Trek. He is also a talking goldfish. Both a talking goldfish and a character voiced by Patrick Stewart are characters in American Dad

Many of the crewmembers look very similar to the navi from Avatar

overall, funny and well made, but not that original


Toonwerks responds:

That moon's name is also Sikara, we just weren't able to fit it anywhere into the episode. Sikara is arakis spelled backwards and is 2 letters away from Sahara.

Pretty much everything you see in this series that 'seems' like it might be a reference is and we probably discussed it for several hours before implementing it.


skaterman17skaterman17

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

" I hate coffee"..."WOOHOOHOOHOOHOO!!!"
LOL great comedy and story awesome job!



shazzbotshazzbot

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

very nice like always i enjoys the series. id make a shitty tv show.



SplendidDevilSplendidDevil

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

This really is just good.



PinbinPinbin

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 24, 2012

I really liked it! :D

I loved the robot and I would like to see it more.