Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jun 20, 2012 | 1:38 PM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place June 21, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place June 27, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Update the first: Thanks everyone for helping us get daily second. And thanks to the Newgrounds staff for the front page! Leave a review and let us know what you thought of the episode, we like reading them!

----------

The Wonders of the Universe is ready to launch! But as fate would have it, Quintin Quasar gets caught up in a depressed Cleaning Bot's plans to flee the ship. Can they survive the barren world they're stranded on?

Episode 3, 'Shanghai Dune' completes the 3 episode Maiden Voyage arc where we introduce you to the world and characters of 'Wonders of the Universe.' The highlight of this episode is no doubt RUT.2, an eccentric Cleaning Robot who finds a little too much joy in his work.

We all pitched in animation in this one, so you might notice a little bit of a change in animation styles throughout the cartoon. We hope it's not too jarring. Most future episodes will be made with one main animator.

We hope you all enjoy! And you'll be happy to know that Episode 4 is already well into the animation stage of production!

- The Toonwerks Crew

Voices:

Xander Mobus (Motley-Fool)
Chris Niosi (Kirbopher)
Miranda Gauvin (dellaciel)
Deven Mack (D-Mac-Double)
Edward Bosco (Darkwolf)
Edwyn Tiong (Omahdon)
Chris Boe (BOE)
Mickey "8-Bit Mickey" Paradis

Production:

Mark Schneider (th1rt3en)
Joseph Blanchette (Legendary Frog)
Casey McDonald (Xiphon)
Chris Boe (BOE)

Reviews


brian13579brian13579

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

LOL wow that robot is such a troll IT HAS WIRELESS RECHARGE



4ris4ris

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

Oh my god! that was great! keep it up :)



NovesNoves

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

While I still love this team's work, I can't help but feel that this episode didn't offer much to the overall story or universe it happens in. It seemed like more of a random story with little significance. I certainly realize that I could be wrong, but that's the overall impression I'm getting.

Aside from that, I find that the entire ensemble is continuing their great work. Unless I get very nit-picky and search through the video with a fine-toothed comb, I have no criticisms in the writing of the episode itself, the animation, the voice acting, the music, the sounds, or the organization of them all. I know that my review would be better if I could find some specific things to praise, but all this team needs to do to provide more high quality videos is to continue working. I'm sure there may be some things in the video that this team wants to improve upon, but from my perspective, you're doing just fine. Keep up the good work, and I will be waiting for the next episode.


Toonwerks responds:

We actually ended up cutting a lot from this episode, though I don't know how much of the stuff we cut actually had to do with deepening of the universe this takes place in. Really the goal with this episode was to introduce a new character to the series, and we wanted to approach it a bit differently than we did with introducing Canis in episode 2.

I'm not sure which style is better, keeping the scope more broad across a huge adventure or more focused on a couple characters. I'm sure it's a case where there's pros and cons for both. We chose the latter for this episode simply because after episode 2 it was appealing to only worry about 1 or 2 characters. You can rest assured that future episodes will include a bit of both,
I know I'm not lying when I state that episode 4 (which is already pretty far into it's production) definitely opens up the world this all takes place in a bit more as we specifically wrote it with questions about the plot in mind.


BossWolfenBossWolfen

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

Neat, great thing about this is that it actually feels like it ends, cuz there were times i couldve swore it was gonna be a cliff hanger, lulz. Keep that habit going and this will go far.



sofa777sofa777

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 22, 2012

this is much better than a crazy teen crap that I usually see here